HOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC

Carrier & Broker

Motor carrier & Broker under MC116886

Cloverdale, VA · Interstate · 1 power unit · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

Do not book until these are resolved · 1 signal

How risk signals work

At least one fact in the FMCSA record should stop a booking until it is cleared up. Confirm the current record on Motus first; it is not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • No broker bond or trust fund on fileBrokers must keep $75,000 of financial security (BMC-84 or BMC-85) on file.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (540) 591-3205 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active on 1 of 2 dockets
MC116886: Motor carrier, Broker active
MC311263: Broker pending
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
2 active filings
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Broker bond / trust (BMC-84/85)
None on file
A broker needs $75,000 on file to operate
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
26.7%
8 of 30 vehicle inspections · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC116886 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Broker
Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000

MC311263 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Broker
Broker
Pending

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 84329 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC116886—ACUITY, A MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy CAZU1883 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Aug 1, 2026Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC116886PrimaryTHE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY CO. OF CONNECTICUT
Policy HE8409C585812TCT14 · BMC-91X
$750,000Mar 1, 2014Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

78inspections
26.7%vehicle out-of-service
8 of 30 · Virginia avg 21.3%
1.3%driver out-of-service
1 of 78 · Virginia avg 6.0%
51violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Jun 30, 2026NC21Yes
Jun 22, 2026NC21Yes
Jun 9, 2026PA30No
May 27, 2026NC30No
May 26, 2026NC30No
Apr 22, 2026NC30No
Apr 15, 2026VA10No
Apr 7, 2026TN30No
Apr 5, 2026KY10No
Apr 1, 2026SC30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

37 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 9 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 51 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance26870.3%67.5%
Unsafe Driving8021.6%13.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance205.4%12.8%
Driver Fitness112.7%4.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
33
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
20
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
20
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
20
Lighting - Headlamp(s) - Any inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALHLI
20
Inoperative turn signal
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939TS
20
Driver operating a CMV without proper endorsements or in violation of restrictions
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 39111B4DEN
11
Brake - Defective brake(s) are equal to or greater than 20% of the service brakes on the vehicle/combination
Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS
11
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damage into the outer reinforcement ply.
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BHTD
11
Air Brake - Audible air leak at other than a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DBAAL
11

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

6crashes
0fatal
3injury
3tow-away
6 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Apr 12, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Dec 16, 2025Not Reported, VA02
Nov 19, 2025Not Reported, VA01
Oct 24, 2025Newberry, SC00
Aug 19, 2025Thomasville, NC01
Feb 13, 2025Hampton City, VA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number84329
MC / docketMC116886, MC311263
Legal nameHOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units1
Drivers1
Annual mileage5,073,833 (2026)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Dec 17, 2003)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateSep 11, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightMeatRefrigerated FoodBeveragesOtherPharmaceuticals

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about HOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC

Is HOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC a broker or a carrier?

Both. HOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.

What does HOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC's operating authority allow?

MC116886: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority).

Which information about HOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check.

What should I verify before booking HOWELL'S MOTOR FREIGHT INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 84329. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (540) 591-3205, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC116886 or MC311263, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 22:16 UTC.