HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/1027748-jerome-l-taylor-trucking-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-20 05:23 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
JEROME L TAYLOR TRUCKING INC
Doing business as JLT TRUCKING
Do not book until these are resolved · 2 signals
How risk signals workAt least one fact in the FMCSA record should stop a booking until it is cleared up. Confirm the current record on Motus first; it is not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.
- Operating authority is not authorized (last known)Without active authority the company may not haul or broker interstate freight for hire.
- Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average27.1% vs District of Columbia average 17.9%.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗: our copy is the last known status from May 14, 2026. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (202) 280-2008, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC433010.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
No insurance filings were found in the public FMCSA data for this carrier.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
23 of 85 · District of Columbia avg 17.9%
2 of 126 · District of Columbia avg 8.3%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 13, 2026 | DC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 12, 2026 | MD | 2 | 0 | No |
| Oct 10, 2026 | DC | 2 | 5 | Yes |
| Oct 7, 2026 | DC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 21, 2026 | DC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 19, 2026 | DC | 2 | 4 | Yes |
| Sep 19, 2026 | DC | 2 | 2 | Yes |
| Sep 19, 2026 | DC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 2, 2026 | MD | 2 | 3 | Yes |
| Aug 29, 2026 | DC | 2 | 2 | Yes |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The District of Columbia average covers 569 vehicle and 793 driver inspections of all District of Columbia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
70 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 29 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 95 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | District of Columbia share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 63 | 27 | 90.0% | 75.6% |
| Unsafe Driving | 5 | 0 | 7.1% | 8.5% |
| Driver Fitness | 2 | 2 | 2.9% | 12.8% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Roll-on/Roll-off/Hook Lift Containers - Improper securement of a roll-on/roll-off and hook lift container Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393134BCRHLC | 17 | 17 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 4 | 4 |
| Lighting - Clearance lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALCL | 4 | 0 |
| Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL | 4 | 0 |
| Washers - Inoperative washing system. Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39378AWS | 4 | 0 |
| Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D | 3 | 0 |
| Emergency Equipment - Stopped vehicle warning devices missing or improper Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395F | 3 | 0 |
| Cargo - Vehicle components or dunnage not secured General Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3929A2C | 2 | 2 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 2 | 0 |
| Lighting - License plate lamp inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALLPL | 2 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the District of Columbia column is the mix across all District of Columbia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
9 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 24, 2026 | Washington, DC | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 27, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 2 |
| May 16, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 |
| May 12, 2026 | Washington, DC | 0 | 1 |
| Sep 30, 2025 | Bethesda, MD | 0 | 1 |
| Dec 30, 2024 | VA | 0 | 0 |
| Dec 20, 2024 | VA | 0 | 0 |
| Dec 12, 2024 | MD | 0 | 2 |
| Oct 24, 2024 | MD | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 1027748 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC433010 |
| Legal name | JEROME L TAYLOR TRUCKING INC |
| DBA name | JLT TRUCKING |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | — |
| Power units | 84 |
| Drivers | 75 |
| Annual mileage | 1,258,585 (2023) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Nov 19, 2025) |
| USDOT number added | May 13, 2002 · 24 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Oct 6, 2025 |
Cargo carried
General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsBuilding MaterialsGarbage/RefusePaper ProductsConstructionOtherTrash Garbage & Construction Waste
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about JEROME L TAYLOR TRUCKING INC
What does JEROME L TAYLOR TRUCKING INC's operating authority allow?
FMCSA records show no active operating authority for JEROME L TAYLOR TRUCKING INC (MC433010), so it may not haul regulated interstate freight for hire or broker loads under these dockets.
Which information about JEROME L TAYLOR TRUCKING INC is old or missing?
Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. No insurance filings were found in the public data.
What should I verify before booking JEROME L TAYLOR TRUCKING INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1027748. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (202) 280-2008, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC433010, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other trucking companies in Washington, DC →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-20 05:23 UTC.