LEON JONES FEED AND GRAIN INC

Cumming, GA · Interstate · 118 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (770) 887-6117 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC139246: Common carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: amount not published
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
18.5%
5 of 27 vehicle inspections · Georgia avg 22.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC139246 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 108832 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: amount not published.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC139246—HANOVER INSURANCE CO.
Policy IHA6167229 · 34
—Aug 18, 2009Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC139246PrimaryCANAL INSURANCE CO.
Policy CT7112010632 · 91X
$750,000Aug 18, 2024Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

86inspections
18.5%vehicle out-of-service
5 of 27 · Georgia avg 22.6%
0.0%driver out-of-service
0 of 86 · Georgia avg 7.2%
138violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026NC26Yes
Sep 7, 2026GA31No
Aug 26, 2026TN31No
Aug 19, 2026GA31No
Aug 14, 2026NC30No
Jul 31, 2026TN31No
Jul 28, 2026AL31No
Jul 22, 2026AL21No
Jul 20, 2026GA31No
Jul 6, 2026GA31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Georgia average covers 65,448 vehicle and 121,709 driver inspections of all Georgia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

69 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 5 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 138 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareGeorgia share
Vehicle Maintenance32546.4%59.3%
Unsafe Driving27039.1%18.6%
Hours-of-Service Compliance10014.5%15.6%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
80
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
80
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
44
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
30
HOS (ELD) - Driver failing to review records and certify the accuracy of the information.
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39530B1ELDDFR
30
Inoperable Required Lamp
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939
30
State/Local Laws - Improper lane change
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLILC
20
State/Local Laws - Failure to maintain lane
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLML
20
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
20
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Georgia column is the mix across all Georgia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

15crashes
0fatal
6injury
9tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 27, 2026Unincorporated, GA01
Jun 11, 2026Cumming, GA01
Apr 11, 2026Huntersville, NC00
Feb 18, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Feb 13, 2026Union City, GA01
Feb 3, 2026GA01
Sep 16, 2025Not Reported, GA00
Sep 5, 2025Not Reported, GA01
May 21, 2025Not Reported, GA00
Apr 4, 2025Unincorporated, GA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number108832
MC / docketMC139246
Legal nameLEON JONES FEED AND GRAIN INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units118
Drivers73
Annual mileage5,950,710 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (May 19, 2006)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMar 26, 2026

Cargo carried

Grain, Feed, HayOtherChicken By-Products

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about LEON JONES FEED AND GRAIN INC

What does LEON JONES FEED AND GRAIN INC's operating authority allow?

MC139246: Common carrier (may haul regulated property for hire for the general public).

Which information about LEON JONES FEED AND GRAIN INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking LEON JONES FEED AND GRAIN INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 108832. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (770) 887-6117, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC139246, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 23:35 UTC.