APPLIANCE FACTORY OUTLET

Thornton, CO · Interstate · 97 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Nov 12, 2003 (22 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • Operating authority is pending (last known)FMCSA has not granted the authority yet.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (720) 772-3131 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Pending
MC1787371: Common carrier pending
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
5.3%
1 of 19 vehicle inspections (small sample) · Colorado avg 22.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC1787371 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Pending
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 1186064 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC1787371PrimaryFEDERATED MUTUAL INSURANCE CO.
Policy 1892413 · 91X
$750,000Apr 1, 2025Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

33inspections
5.3%vehicle out-of-service
1 of 19 · Colorado avg 22.3%
3.0%driver out-of-service
1 of 33 · Colorado avg 6.8%
65violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Sep 17, 2026CO10No
Sep 15, 2026CO32No
Sep 1, 2026CO20No
Aug 19, 2026CO13No
Jul 31, 2026KY14No
Jul 30, 2026CO13No
Jun 18, 2026CO31No
May 28, 2026CO30No
Mar 24, 2026CO31No
Feb 18, 2026CO32No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Colorado average covers 19,011 vehicle and 32,893 driver inspections of all Colorado-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

46 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 4 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 65 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareColorado share
Vehicle Maintenance33271.7%71.3%
Unsafe Driving11023.9%9.7%
Driver Fitness224.3%5.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Driver - Failed to require passenger(s) (not a co-driver) to use seat belt while operating a property-carrying CMV.
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216BDPASS
50
Lighting - Front - Turn signal - inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALFTSI
50
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
30
Lighting - Headlamp(s) fail to operate on low and high beam
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939AHLLH
30
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV.
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216AD
20
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
20
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
20
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
20
Emergency Equipment - Fire Extinguishers - no fire extinguisher present or not properly rated.
Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395A1
20
Emergency Equipment - Stopped vehicle warning devices missing or improper
Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395F
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Colorado column is the mix across all Colorado-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

3crashes
0fatal
1injury
2tow-away
3 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
May 2, 2026Denver, CO00
Sep 17, 2025Not Reported, CO00
Aug 29, 2025Not Reported, CO02

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number1186064
MC / docketMC1787371
Legal nameAPPLIANCE FACTORY OUTLET
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units97
Drivers52
Annual mileage1,100,000 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedNov 12, 2003 · 22 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJan 20, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsCommodities Dry BulkOtherAppliances, Mattress

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about APPLIANCE FACTORY OUTLET

What does APPLIANCE FACTORY OUTLET's operating authority allow?

FMCSA records show no active operating authority for APPLIANCE FACTORY OUTLET (MC1787371), so it may not haul regulated interstate freight for hire or broker loads under these dockets.

Which information about APPLIANCE FACTORY OUTLET is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking APPLIANCE FACTORY OUTLET?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1186064. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (720) 772-3131, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC1787371, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 23:26 UTC.