HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/122025-nilson-van-storage/ · Checked 2026-10-19 15:31 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 18, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
NILSON VAN & STORAGE
Carrier & Broker
Motor carrier & Household goods carrier & Broker under MC109331
Do not book until these are resolved · 1 signal
How risk signals workAt least one fact in the FMCSA record should stop a booking until it is cleared up. Confirm the current record on Motus first; it is not a finding of wrongdoing.
- No broker bond or trust fund on fileBrokers must keep $75,000 of financial security (BMC-84 or BMC-85) on file.
Cargo cover filed: $5,000
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (803) 786-1090, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC109331.
- Ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: $5,000.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cargo | MC109331 | — | Vanliner Insurance Company Policy CGV 3258200-13 · BMC-34 | $5,000 | Nov 19, 2025 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC109331 | Primary | Vanliner Insurance Company Policy MRV 3258200-12 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Nov 19, 2025 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
2 of 5 · South Carolina avg 30.3%
0 of 12 · South Carolina avg 6.7%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 26, 2026 | TX | 3 | 0 | No |
| Aug 25, 2026 | SC | 1 | 3 | No |
| Aug 25, 2026 | GA | 1 | 1 | No |
| Jun 10, 2026 | GA | 3 | 0 | No |
| Dec 4, 2025 | GA | 3 | 1 | No |
| Sep 18, 2025 | TX | 2 | 3 | Yes |
| Sep 11, 2025 | MT | 3 | 0 | No |
| Jun 26, 2025 | GA | 3 | 2 | No |
| Mar 11, 2025 | SC | 2 | 2 | Yes |
| Feb 25, 2025 | TN | 3 | 1 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The South Carolina average covers 18,709 vehicle and 40,848 driver inspections of all South Carolina-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
9 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 2 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 13 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | South Carolina share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 6 | 2 | 66.7% | 68.0% |
| Unsafe Driving | 3 | 0 | 33.3% | 13.4% |
9 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Flat tire or fabric exposed Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A | 1 | 1 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 1 | 1 |
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 1 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 1 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4 | 1 | 0 |
| Air Brake - Truck-tractor manufactured on or after March 1 1997 not equipped with an ABS system. System does not function or indicates a fault. Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355C1B | 1 | 0 |
| Operating a CMV without documentation of a periodic inspection Inspection Reports · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39617CPI | 1 | 0 |
| Truck-Tractor lower rear mud flaps retroreflective sheeting / reflex reflective material requirements for vehicles manufactured after July 1997 Reflective Sheeting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39311TL | 1 | 0 |
| Windshield / Windows - Tinting permits less than 70% of light transmittance Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39360D | 1 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the South Carolina column is the mix across all South Carolina-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
3 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 25, 2026 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Jun 19, 2026 | Not Reported, GA | 1 | 3 |
| Dec 6, 2024 | Columbia, SC | 0 | 1 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026
| USDOT number | 122025 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC109331 |
| Legal name | NILSON VAN & STORAGE |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 43 |
| Drivers | 36 |
| Annual mileage | 527,000 (2025) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Dec 17, 1992) |
| USDOT number added | Jun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | May 5, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightHousehold GoodsBuilding MaterialsFresh ProduceIntermodal ContainersMeatRefrigerated FoodUtilitiesConstruction
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about NILSON VAN & STORAGE
Is NILSON VAN & STORAGE a broker or a carrier?
Both. NILSON VAN & STORAGE holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.
What does NILSON VAN & STORAGE's operating authority allow?
MC109331: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire); Household goods carrier (may move household goods for hire); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority).
Which information about NILSON VAN & STORAGE is old or missing?
Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.
What should I verify before booking NILSON VAN & STORAGE?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 122025. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (803) 786-1090, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC109331, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Other trucking companies in Columbia, SC →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 15:31 UTC.