BARNEY TRUCKING INC

Salina, UT · Interstate · 584 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (435) 529-3701 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC139882: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$4,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
13.3%
20 of 150 vehicle inspections · Utah avg 23.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC139882 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$4,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 123729 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC139882PrimaryHartford Fire Insurance Company
Policy 22 UEN OI5025 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Oct 1, 2021Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC139882Excess over $1,000,000THE HARTFORD
Policy 22RHUOI5058 · BMC-91X
$3,000,000Oct 1, 2024Active
Surety BondMC139882—The Cincinnati Insurance Company
Policy 6772188 · BMC-84
$75,000Oct 10, 2018Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

207inspections
13.3%vehicle out-of-service
20 of 150 · Utah avg 23.6%
1.4%driver out-of-service
3 of 207 · Utah avg 4.5%
284violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 14, 2026CA11No
Oct 7, 2026NM20No
Oct 5, 2026UT21Yes
Sep 28, 2026AZ31No
Sep 22, 2026UT11No
Sep 16, 2026NM10No
Sep 8, 2026CO20No
Sep 4, 2026AZ20No
Sep 2, 2026NM10No
Sep 1, 2026AZ22No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Utah average covers 22,772 vehicle and 39,441 driver inspections of all Utah-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

198 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 27 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 284 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareUtah share
Vehicle Maintenance1402370.7%73.3%
Hazardous Materials Compliance29114.6%0.7%
Unsafe Driving1708.6%9.8%
Hours-of-Service Compliance1015.1%12.6%
Controlled Substances/Alcohol110.5%0.2%
Driver Fitness110.5%3.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
200
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
121
State/Local Laws - Wheel (mud) flaps missing or defective
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3922SLLMF
90
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
80
HM (Packaging) - DOT 406/407/412 supports and anchoring requirements.
Package Integrity - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 1783456HMP
60
Brake - Audible air leak from a brake chamber
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BALAC
50
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
50
Conspicuity Systems - Truck tractor lower rear retro reflective sheeting missing on vehicle manufactured on or after July 1 1997
Reflective Sheeting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39311A1CSLRR
50
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
44
HM (Testing) - Failing to properly mark cargo tank test dates as required
Package Testing - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 180415HMTMC
40

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Utah column is the mix across all Utah-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

19crashes
2fatal
6injury
11tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Oct 6, 2026Unincorporated, CA01
Sep 17, 2026Unknown, NV00
Aug 20, 2026West Jordan, UT01
May 14, 2026Not Reported, UT00
May 6, 2026Not Reported, UT02
Apr 29, 2026Not Reported, NV00
Mar 10, 2026Globe, AZ00
Feb 27, 2026Not Reported, NV00
Feb 5, 2026Unknown, UT11
Jan 9, 2026Las Vegas, NV11

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number123729
MC / docketMC139882
Legal nameBARNEY TRUCKING INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units584
Drivers355
Annual mileage28,612,947 (2026)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Dec 18, 2009)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateAug 14, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsLiquids/GasesCoal/CokeGarbage/RefuseChemicalsCommodities Dry BulkConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about BARNEY TRUCKING INC

What does BARNEY TRUCKING INC's operating authority allow?

MC139882: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about BARNEY TRUCKING INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking BARNEY TRUCKING INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 123729. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (435) 529-3701, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC139882, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (435) 529-3701

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
BARNEY TRUCKING INC High risk
Carrier
Salina, UT3360097MC10758770Not authorized
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 21:26 UTC.