JAMES R BAILEY HAULING LLC

Doing business as JAMES R BAILEY HAULING

Orange, VA · Interstate · 44 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jul 13, 2004 (22 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average32.2% vs Virginia average 21.3%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (540) 308-1813 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC495127: Contract carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
32.2%
19 of 59 vehicle inspections · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC495127 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Contract carrier
Contract Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 1266394 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC495127PrimaryACUITY, A MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy CA-FB2394 · 91X
$750,000Aug 15, 2025Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

125inspections
32.2%vehicle out-of-service
19 of 59 · Virginia avg 21.3%
0.9%driver out-of-service
1 of 112 · Virginia avg 6.0%
111violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 6, 2026KY33No
Oct 6, 2026SC30No
Sep 21, 2026NC10No
Sep 14, 2026MD21Yes
Sep 14, 2026VA32Yes
Sep 14, 2026US30No
Sep 4, 2026NC30No
Aug 28, 2026VA30No
Aug 4, 2026SC30No
Aug 2, 2026GA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

81 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 23 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 111 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance422251.9%67.5%
Unsafe Driving22027.2%13.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance16019.8%12.8%
Driver Fitness111.2%4.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Dressed Lumber/Similar Building Products - Improper Securement of bundles transported using more than one tier.
Failure to Prevent Movement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393118DCDL
77
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
60
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
50
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
50
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
44
Driving beyond 14 hour duty period. (Property carrying vehicle) - Nominal Violation
Hours Nominal · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2HOSPRNP
40
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
40
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
40
HOS (Property) - Driving more than 11 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Time
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A1HOSPD
30
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
30

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

9crashes
0fatal
3injury
6tow-away
9 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 28, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Jun 1, 2026Konterra, MD01
Apr 1, 2026East Lampeter Township, PA00
Apr 1, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Feb 6, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Jan 13, 2026Sadsbury Township, PA00
Oct 10, 2025Not Reported, VA01
Jul 3, 2025Orange, VA00
Nov 25, 2024Arbutus, MD00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number1266394
MC / docketMC495127
Legal nameJAMES R BAILEY HAULING LLC
DBA nameJAMES R BAILEY HAULING
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units44
Drivers44
Annual mileage4,223,114 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Jul 30, 2026)
USDOT number addedJul 13, 2004 · 22 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMay 13, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about JAMES R BAILEY HAULING LLC

What does JAMES R BAILEY HAULING LLC's operating authority allow?

MC495127: Contract carrier (may haul regulated property for hire under continuing contracts with specific shippers).

Which information about JAMES R BAILEY HAULING LLC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking JAMES R BAILEY HAULING LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1266394. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (540) 308-1813, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC495127, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 23:08 UTC.