HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/1337564-bjt-express-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-19 13:42 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 18, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
BJT EXPRESS INC
Doing business as BULLPEN EXPRESS INC
No risk signals found
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (219) 228-1800, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC545421.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC545421 | Primary | Carolina Casualty Insurance Company Policy KCA 2601731 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Sep 1, 2024 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
19 of 106 · Indiana avg 23.1%
3 of 312 · Indiana avg 5.5%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 13, 2026 | IL | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 6, 2026 | SC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 5, 2026 | GA | 3 | 2 | No |
| Sep 30, 2026 | AL | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 29, 2026 | IL | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 23, 2026 | MO | 1 | 1 | No |
| Sep 18, 2026 | IL | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 15, 2026 | FL | 2 | 2 | No |
| Sep 15, 2026 | IL | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 15, 2026 | IL | 2 | 0 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Indiana average covers 61,530 vehicle and 111,152 driver inspections of all Indiana-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
154 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 27 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 217 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Indiana share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unsafe Driving | 74 | 0 | 48.1% | 19.1% |
| Vehicle Maintenance | 63 | 24 | 40.9% | 58.8% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 16 | 2 | 10.4% | 18.1% |
| Driver Fitness | 1 | 1 | 0.6% | 3.6% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 21 | 0 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 9 | 9 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 8 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 7 | 0 |
| Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D | 6 | 0 |
| HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524 | 5 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3 | 5 | 0 |
| Emergency Equipment - Fire Extinguishers - unsecured Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395A4EEUS | 5 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4 | 4 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Operate a CMV while using a cellular phone Texting · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLCP | 4 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Indiana column is the mix across all Indiana-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
10 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 4, 2026 | Not Reported, WV | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 25, 2026 | Cross Plains, TN | 0 | 0 |
| Jun 2, 2026 | Memphis, IN | 0 | 0 |
| May 27, 2026 | Bremen Twp, IL | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 26, 2026 | Anderson, SC | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 26, 2026 | Not Reported, WV | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 20, 2026 | Maine Twp, IL | 0 | 0 |
| Jan 14, 2026 | Cortland Twp, IL | 0 | 0 |
| Nov 18, 2025 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Oct 7, 2025 | Nashua, NH | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026
| USDOT number | 1337564 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC545421 |
| Legal name | BJT EXPRESS INC |
| DBA name | BULLPEN EXPRESS INC |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | — |
| Power units | 405 |
| Drivers | 405 |
| Annual mileage | 48,000,000 (2025) |
| Hazmat | Yes |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Jan 26, 2018) |
| USDOT number added | Feb 24, 2005 · 21 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Feb 12, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightFresh ProduceMeatU.S. MailCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper Products
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about BJT EXPRESS INC
What does BJT EXPRESS INC's operating authority allow?
MC545421: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about BJT EXPRESS INC is old or missing?
Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.
What should I verify before booking BJT EXPRESS INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1337564. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (219) 228-1800, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC545421, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other trucking companies in Hammond, IN →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 13:42 UTC.