D M BOWMAN INC

Carrier & Broker

Motor carrier & Broker under MC138438

Williamsport, MD · Interstate · 265 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Operating authority
Active on 1 of 2 dockets
MC138438: Motor carrier, Broker active
MC117613: no authority granted
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Broker bond / trust (BMC-84/85)
$75,000
Required: $75,000 · Surety Bond (WESTFIELD INSURANCE CO.)
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
21.9%
33 of 151 vehicle inspections · Maryland avg 20.7%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC138438 FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Broker
Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000

MC117613 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Operating authorityNot authorized
FMCSA has not granted common, contract, broker or forwarder authority on this docket.

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 135530 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC138438PrimaryNational Interstate Insurance Company
Policy DMB 8199985-00 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Oct 1, 2025Active
Surety BondMC138438—WESTFIELD INSURANCE CO.
Policy 505188M · BMC-84
$75,000Oct 1, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

279inspections
21.9%vehicle out-of-service
33 of 151 · Maryland avg 20.7%
1.1%driver out-of-service
3 of 279 · Maryland avg 9.4%
164violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 13, 2026NC10No
Oct 13, 2026PA22No
Oct 13, 2026MD22Yes
Oct 8, 2026SC31No
Oct 8, 2026MD22No
Oct 2, 2026NC20No
Oct 2, 2026MD21Yes
Oct 1, 2026MD21No
Sep 30, 2026SC30No
Sep 30, 2026MD20No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Maryland average covers 42,318 vehicle and 51,664 driver inspections of all Maryland-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

115 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 37 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 164 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareMaryland share
Vehicle Maintenance733463.5%71.4%
Unsafe Driving22019.1%10.9%
Hours-of-Service Compliance16013.9%10.3%
Driver Fitness332.6%6.6%
Hazardous Materials Compliance100.9%0.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
100
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
88
Flat tire or fabric exposed
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A
55
HOS (ELD) - In-Vehicle Information - Failing to have a supply of blank driver's records of duty status graph-grids sufficient to record the driver's duty status a
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522H4ELDBRODS
50
Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR
44
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
44
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
40
HOS (Property) - Driving beyond the 14 hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Tim
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2HOSPD
30
State/Local Laws - Failure to maintain lane
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLML
30
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
30

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Maryland column is the mix across all Maryland-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

17crashes
1fatal
2injury
14tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Jul 30, 2026Antrim Township, PA00
Jul 29, 2026Aberdeen, MD00
May 28, 2026Ghent, WV00
May 4, 2026Orange, VA00
Mar 4, 2026Hanover, MD00
Jan 29, 2026Antis Township, PA00
Dec 29, 2025Williamsport, MD01
Dec 22, 2025Not Reported, VA33
Nov 7, 2025Not Reported, VA03
Sep 3, 2025Upper Marlboro, MD00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026

USDOT number135530
MC / docketMC138438, MC117613
Legal nameD M BOWMAN INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units265
Drivers244
Annual mileage17,322,019 (2025)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Jul 9, 2009)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJul 6, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsLiquids/GasesIntermodal ContainersGrain, Feed, HayU.S. MailChemicalsCommodities Dry BulkBeveragesPaper ProductsAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstruction

Questions about D M BOWMAN INC

Is D M BOWMAN INC a broker or a carrier?

Both. D M BOWMAN INC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.

What does D M BOWMAN INC's operating authority allow?

MC138438: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority).

Which information about D M BOWMAN INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check.

What should I verify before booking D M BOWMAN INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 135530. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (301) 223-6900, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC138438 or MC117613, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 10:06 UTC.