JAKE TRANSPORTATION INC

Charlottesville, VA · Interstate · 61 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Apr 21, 2005 (21 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (434) 214-4878 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC522142: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
22.5%
9 of 40 vehicle inspections · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC522142 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 1363368 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC522142PrimaryACUITY, A MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy CA-ZW8089 · BMC-91X
$750,000Sep 1, 2024Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

83inspections
22.5%vehicle out-of-service
9 of 40 · Virginia avg 21.3%
0.0%driver out-of-service
0 of 83 · Virginia avg 6.0%
67violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Sep 28, 2026TN31No
Sep 24, 2026NC20No
Aug 31, 2026KY11Yes
Aug 28, 2026SC12No
Aug 14, 2026MD20No
Aug 6, 2026NC21Yes
Jul 29, 2026VA20No
Jul 23, 2026MD21No
Jul 15, 2026SC31No
Jul 14, 2026VA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

54 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 10 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 67 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance251046.3%67.5%
Unsafe Driving17031.5%13.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance12022.2%12.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
44
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
30
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
30
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
30
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
30
Lighting - Front - Turn signal - inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALFTSI
30
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damage into the outer reinforcement ply.
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BHTD
22
Tires - All others leaking in tread area and inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOLTIS
22
HOS (ELD) - In-Vehicle Information - Failing to have a supply of blank driver's records of duty status graph-grids sufficient to record the driver's duty status a
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522H4ELDBRODS
20
HOS (Property) - Driving beyond the 14 hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Tim
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2HOSPD
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

8crashes
0fatal
2injury
6tow-away
8 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 22, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Jul 19, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Jun 18, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Apr 3, 2026Deptford, NJ00
Nov 5, 2025Highland Park, NJ00
Aug 4, 2025Not Reported, VA00
Feb 11, 2025Antrim Township, PA00
Dec 7, 2024Harrisburg City, PA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number1363368
MC / docketMC522142
Legal nameJAKE TRANSPORTATION INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units61
Drivers59
Annual mileage3,808,036 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedApr 21, 2005 · 21 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateOct 7, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightFresh ProduceIntermodal ContainersMeatCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper Products

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about JAKE TRANSPORTATION INC

What does JAKE TRANSPORTATION INC's operating authority allow?

MC522142: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about JAKE TRANSPORTATION INC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking JAKE TRANSPORTATION INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1363368. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (434) 214-4878, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC522142, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (434) 214-4878

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
JAKE TRANS LLC
Broker
Troy, VA2534012MC878933—Active
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 22:16 UTC.