AMERICAN FURNITURE WAREHOUSE COMPANY

Englewood, CO · Interstate · 401 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (303) 579-3668 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC167860: Motor carrier active
MC167860: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: $5,000
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
8.6%
24 of 280 vehicle inspections · Colorado avg 22.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC167860 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

MC167860 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 137781 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: $5,000.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC167860—CNA Insurance Companies
Policy 6078768259 · BMC-34
$5,000Jul 1, 2020Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC167860PrimaryHartford Fire Insurance Company
Policy 34 CSE S80901 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Jul 1, 2022Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

485inspections
8.6%vehicle out-of-service
24 of 280 · Colorado avg 22.3%
0.4%driver out-of-service
2 of 485 · Colorado avg 6.8%
163violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026NM30No
Oct 14, 2026MO20No
Oct 12, 2026CO10No
Oct 7, 2026NM21No
Oct 7, 2026CO20No
Oct 6, 2026NM20No
Oct 6, 2026NM30No
Oct 5, 2026NM20No
Oct 2, 2026NM30No
Oct 2, 2026CO20No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Colorado average covers 19,011 vehicle and 32,893 driver inspections of all Colorado-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

137 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 27 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 163 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareColorado share
Vehicle Maintenance712551.8%71.3%
Unsafe Driving48035.0%9.7%
Hours-of-Service Compliance17112.4%12.7%
Driver Fitness110.7%5.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
140
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
60
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
55
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
50
State/Local Laws - Speeding work/construction zone
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLSWZ
50
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
50
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
50
Flat tire or fabric exposed
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A
44
Driver - Failed to require passenger(s) (not a co-driver) to use seat belt while operating a property-carrying CMV.
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216BDPASS
40
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damage into the outer reinforcement ply.
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BHTD
33

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Colorado column is the mix across all Colorado-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

13crashes
0fatal
5injury
8tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 12, 2026Not Reported, CO02
Jul 25, 2026Phoenix, AZ00
Jun 24, 2026Thornton, CO00
May 31, 2026Denver, CO01
May 28, 2026Ennis, TX00
Nov 23, 2025Not Reported, CO00
Nov 5, 2025Southaven, MS00
Sep 11, 2025Not Listed, TX02
Aug 28, 2025Nashville, TN00
Mar 20, 2025Oro Valley, AZ02

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number137781
MC / docketMC167860, MC167860
Legal nameAMERICAN FURNITURE WAREHOUSE COMPANY
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units401
Drivers590
Annual mileage22,301,965 (2026)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Apr 4, 1989)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateFeb 3, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesDrive/Tow AwayBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsIntermodal ContainersGrain, Feed, HayCoal/CokeGarbage/RefuseCommodities Dry BulkBeveragesPaper ProductsUtilitiesAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstructionOtherFurniture

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about AMERICAN FURNITURE WAREHOUSE COMPANY

What does AMERICAN FURNITURE WAREHOUSE COMPANY's operating authority allow?

MC167860: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire). MC167860: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about AMERICAN FURNITURE WAREHOUSE COMPANY is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking AMERICAN FURNITURE WAREHOUSE COMPANY?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 137781. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (303) 579-3668, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC167860 or MC167860, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 06:08 UTC.