COWART MULCH PRODUCTS INC

Buford, GA · Interstate · 93 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Nov 18, 2005 (20 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average47.1% vs Georgia average 22.6%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (770) 932-6161 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC542695: Common carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: amount not published
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
47.1%
8 of 17 vehicle inspections (small sample) · Georgia avg 22.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC542695 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 1436462 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: amount not published.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC542695—THE CINCINNATI INSURANCE CO.
Policy CPP 088 34 20 · 34
—Jul 10, 2006Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC542695PrimaryTHIRD COAST INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy FNCAP00009303 · 91X
$750,000Oct 1, 2025Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

55inspections
47.1%vehicle out-of-service
8 of 17 · Georgia avg 22.6%
1.8%driver out-of-service
1 of 55 · Georgia avg 7.2%
107violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 14, 2026GA32Yes
Sep 30, 2026GA31No
Sep 24, 2026GA31No
Sep 22, 2026AL30No
Aug 14, 2026GA31No
Aug 5, 2026FL30No
Jul 2, 2026GA31No
Jun 3, 2026AL20No
May 14, 2026AL22No
May 14, 2026GA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Georgia average covers 65,448 vehicle and 121,709 driver inspections of all Georgia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

58 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 13 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 107 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareGeorgia share
Vehicle Maintenance311153.4%59.3%
Unsafe Driving17029.3%18.6%
Hours-of-Service Compliance8013.8%15.6%
Driver Fitness223.4%5.4%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
40
State/Local Laws - Failure to maintain lane
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLML
30
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
30
Lighting - Tail lamp - Both lamps on rearmost vehicle inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939BLRLIWR
22
Cargo - Insufficient tiedowns (w/o headerboard/blocking) for article(s) of cargo 5 feet or less and more than 1100 lbs
Tiedown · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393110B2IC
22
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
22
HOS (ELD) - A portable ELD is not mounted in a fixed position and visible to the driver when seated in the normal driving position.
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522GELDMFV
20
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
20
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
20
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Georgia column is the mix across all Georgia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

6crashes
1fatal
0injury
5tow-away
6 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Mar 23, 2026Aiken, SC00
Sep 30, 2025Not Reported, GA10
Aug 19, 2025Not Reported, GA00
May 30, 2025Unincorporated, FL00
Mar 31, 2025Suwanee, GA00
Jan 23, 2025North Port, FL00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number1436462
MC / docketMC542695
Legal nameCOWART MULCH PRODUCTS INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units93
Drivers61
Annual mileage3,395,000 (2021)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedNov 18, 2005 · 20 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMay 6, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberMachinery, Large ObjectsCommodities Dry BulkOtherMulch

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about COWART MULCH PRODUCTS INC

What does COWART MULCH PRODUCTS INC's operating authority allow?

MC542695: Common carrier (may haul regulated property for hire for the general public).

Which information about COWART MULCH PRODUCTS INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking COWART MULCH PRODUCTS INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1436462. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (770) 932-6161, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC542695, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (770) 932-6161

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
KEY LOGISTICS LLC Review
Carrier
Buford, GA2830794MC94581993Active
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 04:23 UTC.