HOT-ROCK HAULERS LLC

Doing business as A J TRANSPORT

South Boston, VA · Interstate · 200 power units · Not rated · USDOT since May 3, 2006 (20 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (434) 572-2477 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC562561: Contract carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
15.5%
11 of 71 vehicle inspections · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC562561 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Contract carrier
Contract Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 1496668 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC562561PrimaryARCH INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy ZACAT5205807 · 91X
$1,000,000Sep 1, 2025Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

207inspections
15.5%vehicle out-of-service
11 of 71 · Virginia avg 21.3%
1.4%driver out-of-service
3 of 207 · Virginia avg 6.0%
112violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026NC30No
Oct 6, 2026NC30No
Oct 5, 2026NC30No
Sep 30, 2026VA31No
Sep 23, 2026NC10No
Sep 22, 2026VA30No
Sep 18, 2026NC30No
Sep 18, 2026NC30No
Sep 15, 2026VA30No
Sep 15, 2026VA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

69 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 18 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 112 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance411559.4%67.5%
Unsafe Driving17024.6%13.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance9113.0%12.8%
Driver Fitness222.9%4.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
40
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
30
Lighting - License plate lamp inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALLPL
30
Lighting - Headlamp(s) - Any inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALHLI
30
License - Endorsement - Operate a CMV without proper endorsement
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 39111B5LNCDLNVE
22
Flat tire or fabric exposed
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A
22
Tire-flat and/or audible air leak
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3
22
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
20
HOS (Form) - Paper Log/Logging Programs Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958A
20
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

13crashes
0fatal
5injury
8tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 30, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Jul 1, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Jun 19, 2026Raleigh, NC01
Apr 21, 2026Madison, NC00
Jan 13, 2026Durham, NC00
Dec 17, 2025Sanford, NC01
Jul 21, 2025Danville, VA01
Jun 24, 2025Roanoke, VA00
May 23, 2025Conway, SC00
Apr 2, 2025VA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number1496668
MC / docketMC562561
Legal nameHOT-ROCK HAULERS LLC
DBA nameA J TRANSPORT
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units200
Drivers132
Annual mileage8,231,262 (2023)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedMay 3, 2006 · 20 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateOct 16, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsBuilding MaterialsLiquids/GasesGrain, Feed, HayCommodities Dry BulkAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstructionOtherSand, Stone, Dirt,

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about HOT-ROCK HAULERS LLC

What does HOT-ROCK HAULERS LLC's operating authority allow?

MC562561: Contract carrier (may haul regulated property for hire under continuing contracts with specific shippers).

Which information about HOT-ROCK HAULERS LLC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking HOT-ROCK HAULERS LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1496668. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (434) 572-2477, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC562561, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (434) 572-2477

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
HOT ROCK HAULERS LLC
Carrier · DBA AJ TANK LINES
South Boston, VA4488498MC17738822Active
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 03:37 UTC.