HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/159317-tennessee-steel-haulers-llc/ · Checked 2026-10-20 06:05 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC
Doing business as TSH
Carrier & Broker
Motor carrier & Broker under MC143621
No risk signals in the last-known data
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.
MC149501: Contract carrier inactive
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗: our copy is the last known status from May 14, 2026. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (615) 271-2400, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC143621 or MC149501.
- Ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC143621 | — | LM Insurance Corporation Policy 016242772 · BMC-82 | $75,000 | May 1, 2024 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC143621 | — | LM Insurance Corporation Policy 016242772 · BMC-82 | $750,000 | May 1, 2024 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC143621 | Excess over $2,000,000 | Ace American Insurance Company Policy XSAH08891850 · BMC-91X | $3,000,000 | May 1, 2026 | Active |
| Surety Bond | MC143621 | — | Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America Policy 107618766 · BMC-84 | $75,000 | Apr 18, 2022 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
150 of 612 · Tennessee avg 23.6%
8 of 1,177 · Tennessee avg 3.7%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 17, 2026 | NC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 16, 2026 | MS | 1 | 0 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | KY | 3 | 3 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | AR | 2 | 1 | Yes |
| Oct 14, 2026 | TX | 2 | 5 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | TX | 2 | 0 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | AL | 3 | 3 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | OH | 2 | 1 | No |
| Oct 13, 2026 | NC | 2 | 0 | No |
| Oct 13, 2026 | NM | 2 | 0 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Tennessee average covers 76,674 vehicle and 133,842 driver inspections of all Tennessee-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
680 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 175 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 904 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Tennessee share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 501 | 165 | 73.7% | 64.1% |
| Unsafe Driving | 123 | 0 | 18.1% | 18.1% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 47 | 2 | 6.9% | 13.1% |
| Driver Fitness | 8 | 7 | 1.2% | 3.8% |
| Controlled Substances/Alcohol | 1 | 1 | 0.1% | 0.4% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 54 | 54 |
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 32 | 0 |
| Inoperable Required Lamp Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939 | 21 | 0 |
| Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E | 19 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 18 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 16 | 0 |
| Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR | 15 | 0 |
| Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB | 15 | 0 |
| Tire-flat and/or audible air leak Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3 | 14 | 14 |
| Air Brake - Hose/tubing damage into the outer reinforcement ply. Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BHTD | 11 | 11 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Tennessee column is the mix across all Tennessee-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
10 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 30, 2026 | Cincinnati, OH | 0 | 0 |
| Sep 11, 2026 | Rural Colbert, AL | 0 | 0 |
| Jun 16, 2026 | Winton, NC | 0 | 1 |
| Jun 8, 2026 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Apr 22, 2026 | Houston, TX | 0 | 0 |
| Apr 9, 2026 | Columbus, MS | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 28, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 1, 2026 | Brandon, MN | 0 | 2 |
| Jan 2, 2026 | Rural Talladega, AL | 0 | 0 |
| Dec 16, 2025 | Atlanta, GA | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 159317 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC143621, MC149501 |
| Legal name | TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC |
| DBA name | TSH |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 526 |
| Drivers | 532 |
| Annual mileage | 54,538,263 (2024) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Jun 13, 2011) |
| USDOT number added | Jun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Jan 31, 2025 |
Cargo carried
General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsIntermodal ContainersConstruction
Change history since Oct 18, 2026
4 changes
| Date | What changed | Before | After |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | — | Liability (BI&PD) LM Insurance Corporation 750000 |
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | — | Liability (BI&PD) LM Insurance Corporation 75000 |
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | Surety Bond LM Insurance Corporation 750000 | No longer on file |
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | Surety Bond LM Insurance Corporation 75000 | No longer on file |
Changes we detected between daily FMCSA data refreshes.
Questions about TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC
Is TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC a broker or a carrier?
Both. TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.
What does TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC's operating authority allow?
MC143621: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority).
Which information about TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC is old or missing?
Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check.
What should I verify before booking TENNESSEE STEEL HAULERS LLC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 159317. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (615) 271-2400, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC143621 or MC149501, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Other companies using (615) 271-2400
A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.
1 company
| Company | Location | USDOT | Docket | Trucks | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALABAMA CARRIERS LLC Carrier & broker · DBA ALABAMA CARRIERS INC |
Nashville, TN | 733138 | MC334967 | 215 | Active Current · Motus |
Other trucking companies in Nashville, TN →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-20 06:05 UTC.