HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/182546-howard-sons-automotive-services-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-20 02:47 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026 / FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC
Doing business as HOWARD'S WRECKER SERVICE
Review before booking · 1 signal
How risk signals workFacts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.
- Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average80.0% vs Georgia average 22.6%.
MC310783: Motor carrier active
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗: our copy is the last known status from May 14, 2026. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (770) 432-2613, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC309492 or MC310783.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC309492 | Primary | NEW HAMPSHIRE INSURANCE CO. Policy 01-CA-044253332 · 91X | $1,000,000 | Aug 15, 2024 | Active Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026 |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC310783 | Primary | National Interstate Insurance Company Policy GFA 4430101-03 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Jun 16, 2025 | Active FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 |
Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026 / FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
8 of 10 · Georgia avg 22.6%
1 of 24 · Georgia avg 7.2%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 21, 2026 | AL | 2 | 1 | Yes |
| Aug 13, 2026 | AL | 2 | 4 | Yes |
| Jun 22, 2026 | SC | 2 | 1 | Yes |
| Jun 15, 2026 | SC | 3 | 2 | No |
| May 18, 2026 | GA | 3 | 1 | No |
| Jan 9, 2026 | GA | 3 | 1 | No |
| Jan 6, 2026 | AL | 2 | 8 | Yes |
| Dec 8, 2025 | GA | 2 | 2 | No |
| Sep 25, 2025 | GA | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 18, 2025 | GA | 3 | 1 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Georgia average covers 65,448 vehicle and 121,709 driver inspections of all Georgia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
33 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 10 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 40 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Georgia share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 19 | 9 | 57.6% | 59.3% |
| Unsafe Driving | 11 | 0 | 33.3% | 18.6% |
| Driver Fitness | 2 | 0 | 6.1% | 5.4% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 1 | 1 | 3.0% | 15.6% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 3 | 3 |
| Heavy Vehicles/Equipment - Improper securement of heavy vehicles equipment or machinery with crawler tracks or wheels Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393130CCHVE | 2 | 2 |
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 2 | 0 |
| Driver - Using a hand-held mobile telephone Phone Call · Unsafe Driving · code 39282DUMT | 2 | 0 |
| Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D | 2 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Operate a CMV while using a cellular phone Texting · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLCP | 2 | 0 |
| HOS (Manner) - Driver failed to retain a copy of each record of duty status for the previous 7 consecutive days which shall be in his/her possession and available Incomplete/Wrong Log · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958K2HOSRC | 1 | 1 |
| Lighting - All electrical systems on towed vehicle(s) inoperative due to no electrical connection (e.g. unplugged or loose pigtail) Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39323LEU | 1 | 1 |
| Light Weight Vehicles - Improper securement of automobiles light trucks and vans Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393128BCLWV | 1 | 1 |
| Heavy Vehicles/Equipment - Improper securement of accessory equipment or articulated vehicles Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393130BCHVE | 1 | 1 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Georgia column is the mix across all Georgia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
7 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 1, 2026 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 27, 2026 | Smyrna, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Oct 9, 2025 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 1 |
| Oct 6, 2025 | Smyrna, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Sep 25, 2025 | Atlanta, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Jun 25, 2025 | Sandy Springs, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 26, 2025 | GA | 0 | 1 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 182546 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC309492, MC310783 |
| Legal name | HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC |
| DBA name | HOWARD'S WRECKER SERVICE |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 28 |
| Drivers | 23 |
| Annual mileage | 1,133,503 (2023) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Aug 2, 1995) |
| USDOT number added | Jun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Apr 17, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesDrive/Tow AwayMachinery, Large ObjectsIntermodal Containers
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC
What does HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC's operating authority allow?
MC310783: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC is old or missing?
Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.
What should I verify before booking HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 182546. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (770) 432-2613, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC309492 or MC310783, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other trucking companies in Mableton, GA →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-20 02:47 UTC.