HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/200400-chesterman-company/ · Checked 2026-10-20 00:02 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
CHESTERMAN COMPANY
Doing business as COCA COLA
Do not book until these are resolved · 1 signal
How risk signals workAt least one fact in the FMCSA record should stop a booking until it is cleared up. Confirm the current record on Motus first; it is not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.
- Operating authority is inactive (last known)Without active authority the company may not haul or broker interstate freight for hire.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗: our copy is the last known status from May 14, 2026. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (712) 255-8814, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC176248.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC176248 | Primary | ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY Policy BAP 0187861 · 91X | $1,000,000 | Jul 1, 2018 | Active |
Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
6 of 29 · Iowa avg 22.1%
2 of 76 · Iowa avg 3.1%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 16, 2026 | NE | 3 | 1 | No |
| Oct 9, 2026 | SD | 3 | 2 | No |
| Oct 6, 2026 | NE | 3 | 2 | Yes |
| Oct 6, 2026 | KS | 3 | 0 | No |
| Aug 25, 2026 | NE | 1 | 3 | No |
| Aug 6, 2026 | NE | 1 | 0 | No |
| Aug 3, 2026 | NE | 2 | 5 | No |
| Jul 1, 2026 | SD | 1 | 0 | No |
| Jun 30, 2026 | SD | 3 | 0 | No |
| Jun 25, 2026 | NE | 3 | 1 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Iowa average covers 31,580 vehicle and 64,945 driver inspections of all Iowa-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
30 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 8 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 45 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Iowa share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 17 | 7 | 56.7% | 60.1% |
| Unsafe Driving | 11 | 0 | 36.7% | 23.4% |
| Driver Fitness | 1 | 1 | 3.3% | 3.2% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 1 | 0 | 3.3% | 12.5% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 3 | 0 |
| Operating a CMV without documentation of a periodic inspection Inspection Reports · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39617CPI | 3 | 0 |
| Tire-flat and/or audible air leak Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3 | 2 | 2 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 2 | 2 |
| Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D | 2 | 0 |
| Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB | 2 | 0 |
| Age - Operate a CMV while not at least 21 years of age in interstate commerce General Driver Qualification · Driver Fitness · code 39111B1A | 1 | 1 |
| Brake - Inoperative or missing parking brake on power unit Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39341BNPB | 1 | 1 |
| All required lamps on towed vehicle inoperative due to no electrical connection Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39323PT | 1 | 1 |
| Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR | 1 | 1 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Iowa column is the mix across all Iowa-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
3 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 7, 2026 | Not Reported, NE | 0 | 0 |
| Oct 6, 2025 | North Platte, NE | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 29, 2025 | Not Reported, NE | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 200400 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC176248 |
| Legal name | CHESTERMAN COMPANY |
| DBA name | COCA COLA |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 367 |
| Drivers | 367 |
| Annual mileage | 1 (2024) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Oct 25, 1990) |
| USDOT number added | Jun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Dec 8, 2025 |
Cargo carried
General FreightBeveragesOtherWood Shavings
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about CHESTERMAN COMPANY
What does CHESTERMAN COMPANY's operating authority allow?
FMCSA records show no active operating authority for CHESTERMAN COMPANY (MC176248), so it may not haul regulated interstate freight for hire or broker loads under these dockets.
Which information about CHESTERMAN COMPANY is old or missing?
Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.
What should I verify before booking CHESTERMAN COMPANY?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 200400. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (712) 255-8814, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC176248, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other trucking companies in Sioux City, IA →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-20 00:02 UTC.