JONES TRUCK & EQUIPMENT LLC

Pikeville, KY · Interstate · 75 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Oct 12, 2012 (14 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (606) 432-5724 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC809652: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
5.3%
8 of 150 vehicle inspections · Kentucky avg 23.7%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC809652 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 2349810 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC809652PrimaryUnited States Fire Insurance Company
Policy 5068769292 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000May 31, 2014Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

183inspections
5.3%vehicle out-of-service
8 of 150 · Kentucky avg 23.7%
0.0%driver out-of-service
0 of 183 · Kentucky avg 5.2%
75violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 12, 2026KY10No
Oct 8, 2026KY20No
Oct 5, 2026VA20No
Sep 29, 2026KY10No
Sep 18, 2026KY30No
Sep 17, 2026VA30No
Sep 16, 2026KY20No
Sep 15, 2026KY20No
Sep 11, 2026KY11No
Sep 11, 2026KY20No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Kentucky average covers 21,759 vehicle and 38,047 driver inspections of all Kentucky-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

53 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 8 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 75 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareKentucky share
Vehicle Maintenance35766.0%62.6%
Unsafe Driving11020.8%17.5%
Hazardous Materials Compliance6111.3%0.6%
Hours-of-Service Compliance101.9%14.2%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
40
Emergency Equipment - Stopped vehicle warning devices missing or improper
Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395F
30
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
20
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
20
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
20
Lighting - Side marker lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSML
20
Lighting - Tail lamp - Any inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALRLI
20
HM (Shipping Papers) - Operate a motor vehicle without a required shipping paper. NOTE: An error in the shipping description or an incomplete shipping description
Documentation - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 177817AHMSP
11
Brake - Defective brake(s) are equal to or greater than 20% of the service brakes on the vehicle/combination
Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS
11
BRAKES OUT OF SERVICE: The number of defective brakes is equal to or greater than 20 percent of the service brakes on the vehicle or combination
Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS
11

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Kentucky column is the mix across all Kentucky-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

6crashes
1fatal
1injury
4tow-away
6 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
May 18, 2026Not Reported, VA10
Apr 15, 2026Eolia, KY01
Mar 31, 2026Clear Creek, WV00
Oct 14, 2025Not Reported, VA00
Jul 1, 2025Indianapolis, IN00
Oct 29, 2024Kimper, KY00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number2349810
MC / docketMC809652
Legal nameJONES TRUCK & EQUIPMENT LLC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units75
Drivers58
Annual mileage2,270,000 (2024)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedOct 12, 2012 · 14 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateDec 4, 2025

Cargo carried

Building MaterialsLiquids/GasesChemicalsConstructionOtherGasoline Diesel Fuel

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about JONES TRUCK & EQUIPMENT LLC

What does JONES TRUCK & EQUIPMENT LLC's operating authority allow?

MC809652: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about JONES TRUCK & EQUIPMENT LLC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking JONES TRUCK & EQUIPMENT LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 2349810. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (606) 432-5724, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC809652, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 08:25 UTC.