UNIVERSITY TRANSPORTATION INC

Alabaster, AL · Interstate · 100 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Sep 24, 2014 (12 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average40.2% vs Alabama average 25.6%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (205) 305-1566 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC885639: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
40.2%
41 of 102 vehicle inspections · Alabama avg 25.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC885639 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 2544514 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC885639PrimaryGreat West Casualty Co
Policy CLP63684S · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Oct 7, 2014Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

226inspections
40.2%vehicle out-of-service
41 of 102 · Alabama avg 25.6%
1.8%driver out-of-service
4 of 226 · Alabama avg 4.1%
314violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 12, 2026TN30No
Oct 12, 2026TN30No
Oct 12, 2026TN12Yes
Oct 7, 2026NC30No
Sep 29, 2026MO30No
Sep 22, 2026NC30No
Sep 20, 2026MO20No
Sep 17, 2026NC30No
Sep 17, 2026FL30No
Sep 9, 2026GA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Alabama average covers 33,234 vehicle and 59,607 driver inspections of all Alabama-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

241 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 50 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 314 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareAlabama share
Vehicle Maintenance1584665.6%72.6%
Unsafe Driving40016.6%12.8%
Hours-of-Service Compliance39016.2%10.2%
Driver Fitness441.7%3.5%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
2019
HOS (ELD) - A portable ELD is not mounted in a fixed position and visible to the driver when seated in the normal driving position.
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522GELDMFV
70
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
70
Tires - All others leaking in tread area and inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOLTIS
65
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
60
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
60
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
60
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
60
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
50
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
50

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Alabama column is the mix across all Alabama-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

10crashes
0fatal
4injury
6tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Mar 28, 2026Rural Jefferson, AL00
Mar 20, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Mar 10, 2026TN01
Feb 25, 2026Sandy Springs, GA01
Feb 3, 2026Dry Ridge, KY00
Jan 27, 2026Springfield, MO00
Nov 24, 2025Montgomery, AL00
Nov 24, 2025Not Reported, VA01
Nov 21, 2025Not Reported, GA00
Jan 9, 2025Montgomery, AL03

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number2544514
MC / docketMC885639
Legal nameUNIVERSITY TRANSPORTATION INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units100
Drivers100
Annual mileage9,854,011 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Jul 27, 2023)
USDOT number addedSep 24, 2014 · 12 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMay 7, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightIntermodal Containers

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about UNIVERSITY TRANSPORTATION INC

What does UNIVERSITY TRANSPORTATION INC's operating authority allow?

MC885639: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about UNIVERSITY TRANSPORTATION INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking UNIVERSITY TRANSPORTATION INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 2544514. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (205) 305-1566, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC885639, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 23:35 UTC.