R & J TRUCKING INC

Youngstown, OH · Interstate · 611 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Feb 21, 1985 (41 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (330) 728-3486 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC181556: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
18.7%
29 of 155 vehicle inspections · Ohio avg 21.7%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC181556 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 255968 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC181556PrimaryUnited States Fire Insurance Company
Policy 506-942503-2 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000May 1, 2026Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

358inspections
18.7%vehicle out-of-service
29 of 155 · Ohio avg 21.7%
0.8%driver out-of-service
3 of 358 · Ohio avg 5.2%
295violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026OH10No
Oct 14, 2026KY10No
Oct 7, 2026MI31No
Oct 7, 2026SC31No
Oct 1, 2026OH20No
Sep 30, 2026SC30No
Sep 23, 2026SC30No
Sep 21, 2026AL21Yes
Sep 16, 2026OH21No
Sep 8, 2026OH20No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Ohio average covers 110,511 vehicle and 182,282 driver inspections of all Ohio-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

178 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 37 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 295 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareOhio share
Vehicle Maintenance1023457.3%63.0%
Unsafe Driving56031.5%18.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance1719.6%13.4%
Driver Fitness321.7%4.1%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
1111
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
110
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
90
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
90
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
80
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
70
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
50
State/Local Laws - Speeding work/construction zone
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLSWZ
50
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
50
Roll-on/Roll-off/Hook Lift Containers - Improper securement of a roll-on/roll-off and hook lift container
Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393134BCRHLC
33

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Ohio column is the mix across all Ohio-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

24crashes
1fatal
6injury
17tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 29, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Sep 16, 2026New Haven (Township Of), OH10
Sep 9, 2026Mineral Wells, WV00
Aug 25, 2026Columbus, OH00
Jul 22, 2026Cleveland, OH01
May 28, 2026Canfield (Township Of), OH00
May 19, 2026Brooklyn Heights, OH02
May 1, 2026Toledo, OH00
Apr 30, 2026Etna (Township Of), OH00
Apr 24, 2026Not Reported, GA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number255968
MC / docketMC181556
Legal nameR & J TRUCKING INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units611
Drivers391
Annual mileage24,620,000 (2025)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Oct 20, 2022)
USDOT number addedFeb 21, 1985 · 41 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateFeb 24, 2026

Cargo carried

Metal: Sheets, Coils, RollsBuilding MaterialsCoal/CokeGarbage/RefuseCommodities Dry BulkConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about R & J TRUCKING INC

What does R & J TRUCKING INC's operating authority allow?

MC181556: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about R & J TRUCKING INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking R & J TRUCKING INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 255968. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (330) 728-3486, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC181556, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 01:51 UTC.