HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/263622-foster-fuels-llc/ · Checked 2026-10-19 23:23 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
FOSTER FUELS LLC
No risk signals in the last-known data
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.
MC1629107: no authority granted
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗: our copy is the last known status from May 14, 2026. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (434) 376-2322, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC295289 or MC1629107.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC295289 | Primary | National Interstate Insurance Company Policy GAL 4840064-01 · BMC-91X | $2,000,000 | Jun 1, 2025 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC295289 | Excess over $2,000,000 | National Interstate Insurance Company Policy EXT 4840064-00 · BMC-91X | $3,000,000 | May 20, 2025 | Active |
| Surety Bond | MC295289 | — | Merchants Bonding Company (Mutual) Policy 101180103 · BMC-84 | $75,000 | May 13, 2024 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
17 of 205 · Virginia avg 21.3%
0 of 213 · Virginia avg 6.0%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 13, 2026 | VA | 1 | 2 | Yes |
| Oct 8, 2026 | SC | 1 | 1 | Yes |
| Oct 7, 2026 | VA | 1 | 0 | No |
| Oct 5, 2026 | VA | 1 | 0 | No |
| Oct 2, 2026 | VA | 1 | 0 | No |
| Sep 30, 2026 | VA | 1 | 0 | No |
| Sep 29, 2026 | VA | 1 | 0 | No |
| Sep 25, 2026 | VA | 1 | 0 | No |
| Sep 23, 2026 | VA | 2 | 2 | No |
| Sep 21, 2026 | VA | 1 | 1 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
95 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 18 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 115 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Virginia share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 71 | 9 | 74.7% | 67.5% |
| Hazardous Materials Compliance | 19 | 9 | 20.0% | 1.0% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 4 | 0 | 4.2% | 12.8% |
| Unsafe Driving | 1 | 0 | 1.1% | 13.5% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Lubrication - Oil or grease leak Other Vehicle Defect · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3965BL | 6 | 0 |
| HM (Bulk Packages) - HM/DG leaking from a bulk package (including associated piping) Load Securement - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 17324B1HMBPMC | 4 | 4 |
| Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998 Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB | 4 | 0 |
| Brake - Defective brake(s) are equal to or greater than 20% of the service brakes on the vehicle/combination Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS | 3 | 3 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 3 | 3 |
| Brake - Audible air leak from a brake chamber Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BALAC | 3 | 0 |
| Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL | 3 | 0 |
| Operating a CMV without documentation of a periodic inspection Inspection Reports · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39617CPI | 3 | 0 |
| Conspicuity Systems - Truck tractor upper rear retro reflective sheeting missing on vehicle manufactured on or after July 1 1997 Reflective Sheeting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39311A1CSURR | 3 | 0 |
| Washers - Inoperative washing system. Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39378AWS | 3 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
5 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 30, 2026 | Phoenix, AZ | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 23, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Sep 25, 2025 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Nov 16, 2024 | VA | 0 | 1 |
| Nov 4, 2024 | Cary, NC | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 263622 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC295289, MC1629107 |
| Legal name | FOSTER FUELS LLC |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 261 |
| Drivers | 210 |
| Annual mileage | 4,136,367 (2025) |
| Hazmat | Yes |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Jun 30, 2009) |
| USDOT number added | Aug 19, 1985 · 41 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Sep 23, 2026 |
Cargo carried
Liquids/GasesOtherLp Gas Gasoline Dist
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about FOSTER FUELS LLC
What does FOSTER FUELS LLC's operating authority allow?
MC295289: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about FOSTER FUELS LLC is old or missing?
Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check.
What should I verify before booking FOSTER FUELS LLC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 263622. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (434) 376-2322, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC295289 or MC1629107, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other trucking companies in Brookneal, VA →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 23:23 UTC.