POWERGRID SERVICES LLC

Hartselle, AL · Interstate · 96 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Mar 7, 2016 (10 years)

Do not book until these are resolved · 1 signal

How risk signals work

At least one fact in the FMCSA record should stop a booking until it is cleared up. Confirm the current record on Motus first; it is not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • Operating authority is not authorized (last known)Without active authority the company may not haul or broker interstate freight for hire.
Operating authority
Last known: Not authorized
MC965897: no authority granted
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
None on file
Not required without active authority
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
22.2%
4 of 18 vehicle inspections (small sample) · Alabama avg 25.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC965897 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Operating authorityNot authorized
FMCSA has not granted common, contract, broker or forwarder authority on this docket.

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 2862106 ↗

Insurance on file

No insurance filings were found in the public FMCSA data for this carrier.

Check: Motus record for USDOT 2862106 ↗

Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

38inspections
22.2%vehicle out-of-service
4 of 18 · Alabama avg 25.6%
10.5%driver out-of-service
4 of 38 · Alabama avg 4.1%
54violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Sep 10, 2026TN24No
Aug 28, 2026TN14No
Aug 8, 2026GA30No
Jul 29, 2026AL21No
Jun 30, 2026AL24Yes
Mar 2, 2026NC21Yes
Feb 27, 2026AL22Yes
Nov 11, 2025FL31No
Oct 25, 2025GA10No
Oct 13, 2025GA31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Alabama average covers 33,241 vehicle and 59,582 driver inspections of all Alabama-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

45 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 11 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 54 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareAlabama share
Vehicle Maintenance25655.6%72.6%
Unsafe Driving14031.1%12.8%
Driver Fitness5411.1%3.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance112.2%10.2%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
50
Emergency Equipment - Stopped vehicle warning devices missing or improper
Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395F
40
Brake - Breakaway not attached to the towing vehicle
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39343DBMA
33
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
30
Medical (Certificate) - Operating a property-carrying vehicle without a valid medical certificate in possession or on file with the state drivers licensing agency
Medical Certificate · Driver Fitness · code 39141APC
22
State/Local Laws - Following too closely
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLFC
20
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
20
Windshield / Windows - Tinting permits less than 70% of light transmittance
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39360D
20
License (CDL) - Operate a CMV and does not possess a valid CDL
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 38323A2LCDLN
11
License - Endorsement - Operate a CMV without proper endorsement
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 39111B5LNCDLNVE
11

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Alabama column is the mix across all Alabama-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

10crashes
1fatal
3injury
6tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Jan 22, 2026Rural Cherokee, AL00
Jan 5, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Aug 5, 2025Fort Mill, SC00
Jul 28, 2025Boyce, LA03
May 13, 2025Not Reported, GA12
Mar 21, 2025Duluth, GA00
Feb 12, 2025VA00
Nov 6, 2024TN01
Nov 1, 2024Emerson, GA00
Oct 23, 2024GA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026

USDOT number2862106
MC / docketMC965897
Legal namePOWERGRID SERVICES LLC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units96
Drivers129
Annual mileage2,781,951 (2025)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedMar 7, 2016 · 10 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJan 20, 2026

Cargo carried

Drive/Tow AwayLiquids/GasesUtilities

Questions about POWERGRID SERVICES LLC

What does POWERGRID SERVICES LLC's operating authority allow?

FMCSA records show no active operating authority for POWERGRID SERVICES LLC (MC965897), so it may not haul regulated interstate freight for hire or broker loads under these dockets.

Which information about POWERGRID SERVICES LLC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. No insurance filings were found in the public data. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking POWERGRID SERVICES LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 2862106. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (256) 407-2816, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC965897, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 11:03 UTC.