THE SCRUGGS COMPANY

Hahira, GA · Interstate · 306 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (229) 242-2388 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC317803: Contract carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$5,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
29.2%
7 of 24 vehicle inspections · Georgia avg 22.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC317803 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Contract carrier
Contract Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$5,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 29540 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC317803PrimarySAFETY NATIONAL CASUALTY CORPORATION
Policy CA6676946 · 91X
$5,000,000Oct 1, 2025Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

57inspections
29.2%vehicle out-of-service
7 of 24 · Georgia avg 22.6%
7.0%driver out-of-service
4 of 57 · Georgia avg 7.2%
111violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Sep 29, 2026GA30No
Sep 4, 2026GA19No
Aug 27, 2026GA23Yes
Aug 27, 2026GA13No
Aug 19, 2026GA31No
Aug 14, 2026GA31No
Jul 22, 2026GA31No
May 20, 2026GA31No
Apr 14, 2026GA11Yes
Apr 2, 2026GA10No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Georgia average covers 65,448 vehicle and 121,709 driver inspections of all Georgia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

70 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 14 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 111 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareGeorgia share
Vehicle Maintenance401057.1%59.3%
Unsafe Driving20028.6%18.6%
Hazardous Materials Compliance507.1%0.4%
Driver Fitness324.3%5.4%
Controlled Substances/Alcohol111.4%0.6%
Hours-of-Service Compliance111.4%15.6%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
HM (Placarding) - Failure to maintain placard(s) in a condition so that the format legibility color and visibility of the placard will not be substantially red
Markings - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 172516C6HMPMC
40
State/Local Laws - Failure to maintain lane
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLML
40
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
33
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
30
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
30
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
30
Lighting - Stop lamps - Any inoperative.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLI
30
Washers - Inoperative washing system.
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39378AWS
30
Cargo - Cargo not secured to prevent leaking/spilling/blowing/falling from CMV
Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393100BC
22
State/Local Laws - Following too closely
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLFC
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Georgia column is the mix across all Georgia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

11crashes
1fatal
5injury
5tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 4, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Aug 27, 2026Braselton, GA00
Apr 2, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Nov 25, 2025GA00
Oct 1, 2025Macon, GA00
Jun 16, 2025Not Reported, GA02
Jun 5, 2025Oak Park, GA01
Feb 28, 2025GA02
Jan 20, 2025GA01
Nov 19, 2024GA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number29540
MC / docketMC317803
Legal nameTHE SCRUGGS COMPANY
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units306
Drivers121
Annual mileage3,432,846 (2025)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Oct 18, 1996)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateFeb 14, 2026

Cargo carried

Building MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about THE SCRUGGS COMPANY

What does THE SCRUGGS COMPANY's operating authority allow?

MC317803: Contract carrier (may haul regulated property for hire under continuing contracts with specific shippers).

Which information about THE SCRUGGS COMPANY is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking THE SCRUGGS COMPANY?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 29540. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (229) 242-2388, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC317803, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 00:04 UTC.