ZERO MAX INC

Palatine, IL · Interstate · 215 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Feb 28, 2017 (9 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC13650: Common carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
35.1%
106 of 302 vehicle inspections · Illinois avg 24.1%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC13650 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 2979800 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC13650PrimaryUNIVERSAL CASUALTY RISK RETENTION GROUP, INC
Policy URG-02940 · 91X
$1,000,000Apr 22, 2026Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

556inspections
35.1%vehicle out-of-service
106 of 302 · Illinois avg 24.1%
3.8%driver out-of-service
21 of 555 · Illinois avg 4.4%
640violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Apr 22, 2026CA21Yes
Nov 4, 2025IN21Yes
Nov 4, 2025AZ23No
Oct 31, 2025WY30No
Oct 21, 2025CA22No
Oct 14, 2025TN30No
Oct 8, 2025NM20No
Oct 7, 2025MT31Yes
Oct 2, 2025IN23Yes
Sep 30, 2025CA12No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Illinois average covers 195,261 vehicle and 387,726 driver inspections of all Illinois-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

490 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 151 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 640 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareIllinois share
Vehicle Maintenance30912763.1%60.9%
Unsafe Driving124025.3%19.8%
Hours-of-Service Compliance48169.8%14.8%
Driver Fitness981.8%3.6%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
3837
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
310
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
160
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
130
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
130
Failure to obey traffic control device
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922C
120
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
120
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
120
Tire-flat and/or audible air leak
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3
1111
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
100

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Illinois column is the mix across all Illinois-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

41crashes
1fatal
9injury
31tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Jun 18, 2026Ash Fork, AZ02
May 14, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Apr 30, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Nov 29, 2025Waynetown, IN03
Nov 28, 2025Fontana, CA00
Oct 19, 2025Unincorporated, CA01
Aug 27, 2025Unknown, AZ01
Aug 2, 2025Buford, GA00
Jul 5, 2025Non-City Or Unincorporate, MO00
Jun 16, 2025Unincorporated, FL00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026

USDOT number2979800
MC / docketMC13650
Legal nameZERO MAX INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units215
Drivers215
Annual mileage37,000,000 (2026)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedFeb 28, 2017 · 9 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateApr 22, 2026

Cargo carried

General Freight

Questions about ZERO MAX INC

What does ZERO MAX INC's operating authority allow?

MC13650: Common carrier (may haul regulated property for hire for the general public).

Which information about ZERO MAX INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking ZERO MAX INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 2979800. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (630) 423-7227, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC13650, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 02:38 UTC.