OLD CITY EXPRESS LLC

Columbus, OH · Interstate · 62 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Mar 12, 2017 (9 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • Operating authority is pending (last known)FMCSA has not granted the authority yet.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (380) 444-6464 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Pending
MC15905: Common carrier revocation pending
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
None on file
Not required without active authority
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
27.1%
35 of 129 vehicle inspections · Ohio avg 21.7%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC15905 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Revocation Pending
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 2984398 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC15905PrimaryHOXBRIDGE INSURANCE COMPANY INC
Policy HIC80821-326 · 91X
$750,000Mar 25, 2026Cancelled
May 29, 2026

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

275inspections
27.1%vehicle out-of-service
35 of 129 · Ohio avg 21.7%
2.2%driver out-of-service
6 of 275 · Ohio avg 5.2%
293violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 17, 2026OK13Yes
Oct 3, 2026TN31No
Sep 30, 2026OK30No
Sep 30, 2026AL20No
Sep 30, 2026TX12No
Sep 28, 2026MO30No
Sep 25, 2026TX20No
Sep 24, 2026AR31No
Sep 23, 2026SC30No
Sep 13, 2026TX31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Ohio average covers 110,511 vehicle and 182,282 driver inspections of all Ohio-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

205 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 46 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 293 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareOhio share
Vehicle Maintenance1194058.0%63.0%
Unsafe Driving59028.8%18.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance24311.7%13.4%
Driver Fitness331.5%4.1%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
1515
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
140
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
80
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
60
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
60
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
60
Inoperable Required Lamp
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939
60
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
50
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
40
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
33

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Ohio column is the mix across all Ohio-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

23crashes
1fatal
7injury
15tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 30, 2026Mount Enterprise, TX10
Mar 10, 2026Strongsville, OH01
Feb 18, 2026Burnsville, MN00
Jan 25, 2026Not Reported, KS02
Jan 24, 2026Not Reported, KS00
Nov 10, 2025Not Reported, GA00
Oct 7, 2025Marshall, TX08
Sep 14, 2025Rural, LA00
Aug 7, 2025Non-City Or Unincorporate, MO02
Jul 25, 2025Not Reported, VA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number2984398
MC / docketMC15905
Legal nameOLD CITY EXPRESS LLC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units62
Drivers62
Annual mileage5,946,700 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedMar 12, 2017 · 9 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMay 13, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsOtherFak

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about OLD CITY EXPRESS LLC

What does OLD CITY EXPRESS LLC's operating authority allow?

FMCSA records show no active operating authority for OLD CITY EXPRESS LLC (MC15905), so it may not haul regulated interstate freight for hire or broker loads under these dockets.

Which information about OLD CITY EXPRESS LLC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking OLD CITY EXPRESS LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 2984398. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (380) 444-6464, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC15905, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 21:07 UTC.