HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/303024-us-xpress-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-19 09:12 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 18, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
US XPRESS INC
Doing business as US XPRESS
Carrier & Broker
Broker & Motor carrier under MC188121
No risk signals found
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (423) 510-3000, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC188121.
- Ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC188121 | Primary | MOUNTAIN LAKE RISK RETENTION GROUP, INC Policy USX-188121-16 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Jun 14, 2017 | Active |
| Surety Bond | MC188121 | — | Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America Policy 108232064 · BMC-84 | $75,000 | Mar 14, 2025 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
1,059 of 5,445 · Tennessee avg 23.5%
57 of 9,244 · Tennessee avg 3.7%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 15, 2026 | PA | 3 | 1 | No |
| Oct 15, 2026 | KY | 2 | 1 | Yes |
| Oct 15, 2026 | OK | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | KY | 2 | 1 | Yes |
| Oct 14, 2026 | NC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | NC | 2 | 0 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | OH | 1 | 0 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | MO | 3 | 1 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | TX | 2 | 1 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | TX | 2 | 2 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Tennessee average covers 76,642 vehicle and 133,725 driver inspections of all Tennessee-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
3,911 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 1,207 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 5,646 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Tennessee share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 2,564 | 1,142 | 65.6% | 64.1% |
| Unsafe Driving | 901 | 0 | 23.0% | 18.1% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 385 | 14 | 9.8% | 13.1% |
| Driver Fitness | 47 | 44 | 1.2% | 3.8% |
| Hazardous Materials Compliance | 9 | 2 | 0.2% | 0.5% |
| Controlled Substances/Alcohol | 5 | 5 | 0.1% | 0.4% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 356 | 348 |
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 201 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 200 | 0 |
| Tires - All others leaking in tread area and inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOLTIS | 135 | 134 |
| Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998 Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB | 111 | 0 |
| Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR | 98 | 96 |
| Tire-flat and/or audible air leak Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3 | 94 | 93 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 77 | 0 |
| Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D | 73 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Wheel (mud) flaps missing or defective Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3922SLLMF | 72 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Tennessee column is the mix across all Tennessee-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
10 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 25, 2026 | Charlotte, NC | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 21, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 21, 2026 | Kinston, NC | 0 | 2 |
| Aug 20, 2026 | Carrollton, KY | 0 | 1 |
| Aug 20, 2026 | Unincorporated, FL | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Lewisville, TX | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 13, 2026 | Not Reported, KS | 0 | 1 |
| Aug 12, 2026 | West Memphis, AR | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 12, 2026 | Unincorporated, FL | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026
| USDOT number | 303024 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC188121 |
| Legal name | US XPRESS INC |
| DBA name | US XPRESS |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 4,953 |
| Drivers | 5,412 |
| Annual mileage | 421,067,515 (2025) |
| Hazmat | Yes |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Nov 14, 2007) |
| USDOT number added | Oct 13, 1987 · 39 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Apr 27, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsFresh ProduceLiquids/GasesIntermodal ContainersGrain, Feed, HayGarbage/RefuseU.S. MailChemicalsCommodities Dry BulkBeveragesPaper ProductsUtilitiesAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstructionOtherCarpet, Electronics
Questions about US XPRESS INC
Is US XPRESS INC a broker or a carrier?
Both. US XPRESS INC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.
What does US XPRESS INC's operating authority allow?
MC188121: Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority); Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about US XPRESS INC is old or missing?
Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.
What should I verify before booking US XPRESS INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 303024. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (423) 510-3000, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC188121, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Other companies using (423) 510-3000
A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.
1 company
| Company | Location | USDOT | Docket | Trucks | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| U S XPRESS INC Carrier |
Chattanooga, TN | 2973893 | FF6943 | 0 | Active Last known · May 14, 2026 |
Other trucking companies in Chattanooga, TN →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 09:12 UTC.