HEART RIVER LOGISTICS LLC

Doing business as HEART RIVER ENERGY LLC

Berthold, ND · Interstate · 43 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Aug 25, 2017 (9 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average47.6% vs North Dakota average 27.7%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (701) 300-0233 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC45209: Common carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
47.6%
20 of 42 vehicle inspections · North Dakota avg 27.7%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC45209 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 3042172 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC45209PrimaryEVEREST NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy EN4CA00665-231 · 91X
$1,000,000Apr 30, 2023Active
Surety BondMC45209—NORTH AMERICAN SPECIALTY INS CO
Policy 2222431 · 84
—Aug 1, 2019Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

50inspections
47.6%vehicle out-of-service
20 of 42 · North Dakota avg 27.7%
6.0%driver out-of-service
3 of 50 · North Dakota avg 3.1%
210violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Sep 29, 2026TX17Yes
Sep 7, 2026NM22No
Sep 2, 2026TX27No
Aug 25, 2026TX110Yes
Aug 6, 2026TX22No
Jul 21, 2026TX24Yes
Jul 17, 2026TX21No
Jul 14, 2026NM31No
Jul 2, 2026TX111Yes
Jun 29, 2026NM31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The North Dakota average covers 8,356 vehicle and 15,697 driver inspections of all North Dakota-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

135 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 31 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 210 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareNorth Dakota share
Vehicle Maintenance1031876.3%77.1%
Hazardous Materials Compliance22916.3%1.4%
Driver Fitness443.0%2.7%
Unsafe Driving403.0%10.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance201.5%8.1%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Inoperable Required Lamp
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939
125
Wipers - Inoperative / missing / damaged wipers
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39378
50
No or improper shipping papers (carrier)
Documentation - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 177817A
44
Brake Connections with Leaks Under Vehicle
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DLUV
40
No or Defective ABS Malfunction Indicator Lamp for trailer manufactured after 03/01/1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355E
40
Oil and/or grease leak
Other Vehicle Defect · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3965B
40
Windshield - Damaged or Discolored
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39360C
40
Tire-flat and/or audible air leak
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3
33
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
30
Truck Tractor manufactured on or after March 1 1997 not equipped with an antilock brake system
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355C1
30

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the North Dakota column is the mix across all North Dakota-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

4crashes
1fatal
0injury
3tow-away
4 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 7, 2026Not Reported, NM11
Feb 16, 2026Not Reported, NM00
Dec 13, 2025Unknown, NM00
Dec 22, 2024ND00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number3042172
MC / docketMC45209
Legal nameHEART RIVER LOGISTICS LLC
DBA nameHEART RIVER ENERGY LLC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units43
Drivers42
Annual mileage2,535,418 (2020)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedAug 25, 2017 · 9 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateApr 3, 2025

Cargo carried

Liquids/Gases

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about HEART RIVER LOGISTICS LLC

What does HEART RIVER LOGISTICS LLC's operating authority allow?

MC45209: Common carrier (may haul regulated property for hire for the general public).

Which information about HEART RIVER LOGISTICS LLC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking HEART RIVER LOGISTICS LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 3042172. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (701) 300-0233, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC45209, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 18:21 UTC.