Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026. How this works
- No broker bond or trust fund on fileBrokers must keep $75,000 of financial security (BMC-84 or BMC-85) on file.
FF22045: no authority granted
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗: our copy is the last known status from May 14, 2026. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (888) 662-9906, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC49729 or FF22045.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC49729 | Primary | Carolina Casualty Insurance Company Policy 2600002 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Dec 1, 2020 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
25 of 93 · Indiana avg 23.1%
2 of 221 · Indiana avg 5.5%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 1, 2026 | GA | 3 | 1 | No |
| Sep 25, 2026 | TN | 3 | 1 | No |
| Sep 18, 2026 | MS | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 3, 2026 | IL | 3 | 1 | No |
| Sep 2, 2026 | AL | 2 | 0 | No |
| Aug 26, 2026 | TX | 2 | 1 | No |
| Aug 24, 2026 | SD | 3 | 0 | No |
| Aug 20, 2026 | NY | 1 | 5 | Yes |
| Aug 13, 2026 | GA | 2 | 4 | No |
| Aug 4, 2026 | MS | 3 | 0 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Indiana average covers 61,530 vehicle and 111,152 driver inspections of all Indiana-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
139 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 34 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 186 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Indiana share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 77 | 32 | 55.4% | 58.8% |
| Unsafe Driving | 47 | 0 | 33.8% | 19.1% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 12 | 0 | 8.6% | 18.1% |
| Controlled Substances/Alcohol | 2 | 2 | 1.4% | 0.3% |
| Driver Fitness | 1 | 0 | 0.7% | 3.6% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 10 | 10 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 10 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 8 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 5 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3 | 4 | 0 |
| Cargo - Damaged securement devices/tiedowns Securement Device · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393104BC | 4 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Wheel (mud) flaps missing or defective Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3922SLLMF | 4 | 0 |
| Air Brake - Hose/tubing damage into the outer reinforcement ply. Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BHTD | 3 | 3 |
| Tire-flat and/or audible air leak Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3 | 3 | 3 |
| Inoperable Required Lamp Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939 | 3 | 2 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Indiana column is the mix across all Indiana-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
10 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24, 2026 | Not Reported, KS | 0 | 0 |
| Apr 9, 2026 | Gaithersburg, MD | 0 | 0 |
| Mar 19, 2026 | Mooresville, NC | 0 | 1 |
| Feb 12, 2026 | Olive Branch, MS | 0 | 0 |
| Jan 21, 2026 | Rolla, MO | 1 | 0 |
| Dec 18, 2025 | Lamar Township, PA | 0 | 1 |
| Dec 15, 2025 | Rural(Benton County), AR | 0 | 0 |
| Oct 17, 2025 | Warren, IN | 0 | 0 |
| Sep 25, 2025 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 2 |
| Sep 17, 2025 | Fremont, IN | 0 | 1 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026
| USDOT number | 3050833 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC49729, FF22045 |
| Legal name | HMD LLC |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | — |
| Power units | 83 |
| Drivers | 82 |
| Annual mileage | 13,500,002 (2024) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Not rated (no compliance review on record) |
| USDOT number added | Sep 21, 2017 · 9 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Feb 19, 2025 |
Cargo carried
General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsFresh ProduceGrain, Feed, HayCommodities Dry BulkBeveragesPaper ProductsUtilitiesAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstruction
Questions about HMD LLC
Is HMD LLC a broker or a carrier?
Both. HMD LLC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.
What does HMD LLC's operating authority allow?
MC49729: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority).
Which information about HMD LLC is old or missing?
Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.
What should I verify before booking HMD LLC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 3050833. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (888) 662-9906, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC49729 or FF22045, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as certificate holder.
Other trucking companies in Gary
All in Gary →Largest fleets
| Company | USDOT | Docket | Trucks | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFC TRANSPORT INC | 2405573 | MC827604 | 219 | Active Current · Motus |
| STEEL TRANSPORT INC | 203754 | MC153552 | 135 | Active Current · Motus |
| BENEFIT TRUCKING LLC DBA BENEFIT TRUCKING |
1136172 | MC458482 | 121 | Active Current · Motus |
| F & W TRANSPORTATION LLC | 2418668 | MC845785 | 89 | Last known: Active FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026 |
| CRYSTAL TRUCKING INC | 1165156 | MC463847 | 84 | Last known: Inactive FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026 |
| INTER FREIGHT INC | 1196617 | MC475236 | 77 | Active Current · Motus |
| P AND C TRUCKING ENTERPRISES INC | 532185 | MC197166 | 70 | Last known: Active FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026 |
| MACER TRANSPORTATION INC | 2464383 | MC851650 | 56 | Active Current · Motus |
| JACK GRAY TRANSPORT INC | 125448 | MC125777 | 45 | Active Current · Motus |
| KEY CARRIER GROUP COMPANY DBA KEY CARRIER |
2941667 | MC994971 | 45 | Active Current · Motus |
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error.