D P CURTIS TRUCKING INC

Richfield, UT · Interstate · 266 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Feb 8, 1988 (38 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (435) 896-4417 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC164650: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
20.3%
27 of 133 vehicle inspections · Utah avg 23.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC164650 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 309665 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC164650PrimarySentry Select Insurance Company
Policy A0061757001 · BMC-91X
$750,000Aug 1, 2024Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

278inspections
20.3%vehicle out-of-service
27 of 133 · Utah avg 23.6%
1.8%driver out-of-service
5 of 277 · Utah avg 4.5%
304violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 14, 2026MT31No
Oct 13, 2026MT30No
Oct 8, 2026UT17No
Oct 8, 2026AZ14No
Oct 7, 2026UT10No
Oct 6, 2026CO30No
Sep 24, 2026CA20No
Sep 22, 2026WY19No
Sep 16, 2026AZ31No
Sep 15, 2026UT30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Utah average covers 22,772 vehicle and 39,441 driver inspections of all Utah-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

230 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 40 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 304 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareUtah share
Vehicle Maintenance1413461.3%73.3%
Hours-of-Service Compliance49121.3%12.6%
Unsafe Driving33014.3%9.8%
Driver Fitness753.0%3.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
180
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
100
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
80
Operating a CMV without documentation of a periodic inspection
Inspection Reports · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39617CPI
70
HOS (Property) - Driving beyond the 14 hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Tim
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2HOSPD
60
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
60
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
60
Dressed Lumber/Similar Building Products - Improper Securement of bundles transported using more than one tier.
Failure to Prevent Movement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393118DCDL
55
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
55
HOS (ELD) - A portable ELD is not mounted in a fixed position and visible to the driver when seated in the normal driving position.
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522GELDMFV
50

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Utah column is the mix across all Utah-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

8crashes
0fatal
4injury
4tow-away
8 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Jul 6, 2026Not Reported, NV01
Dec 22, 2025Phoenix, AZ00
Nov 25, 2025Not Reported, NV01
Oct 8, 20253.83 E Little Valley, OR01
Aug 8, 2025Not Reported, CO01
Mar 13, 2025Anaheim, CA00
Feb 11, 2025Delle, UT00
Oct 29, 2024NV00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number309665
MC / docketMC164650
Legal nameD P CURTIS TRUCKING INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units266
Drivers133
Annual mileage13,041,948 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Oct 21, 2008)
USDOT number addedFeb 8, 1988 · 38 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateAug 27, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsDrive/Tow AwayLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsLivestockGrain, Feed, HayCoal/CokeMeatChemicalsCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper ProductsAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstructionOtherEarth Materials

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about D P CURTIS TRUCKING INC

What does D P CURTIS TRUCKING INC's operating authority allow?

MC164650: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about D P CURTIS TRUCKING INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking D P CURTIS TRUCKING INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 309665. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (435) 896-4417, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC164650, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 23:15 UTC.