SOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY

Doing business as SOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION

Boonville, NC · Interstate · 188 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Mar 23, 1988 (38 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (336) 367-4767 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC199727: Motor carrier active; Broker inactive
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
18.0%
30 of 167 vehicle inspections · North Carolina avg 21.9%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC199727 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Broker
Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
Inactive
Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 311711 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC199727—Protective Insurance Company
Policy MD005247 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000May 1, 2025Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC199727PrimaryProtective Insurance Company
Policy MD-005247 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000May 1, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

385inspections
18.0%vehicle out-of-service
30 of 167 · North Carolina avg 21.9%
0.8%driver out-of-service
3 of 385 · North Carolina avg 5.9%
144violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 13, 2026NC30No
Oct 13, 2026NC10No
Oct 12, 2026KS30No
Oct 8, 2026NC20No
Oct 7, 2026NC30No
Oct 7, 2026NC30No
Oct 6, 2026IN10No
Oct 5, 2026TX21No
Oct 5, 2026OH30No
Sep 26, 2026WV30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The North Carolina average covers 60,599 vehicle and 118,016 driver inspections of all North Carolina-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

123 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 38 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 144 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareNorth Carolina share
Vehicle Maintenance653552.8%63.4%
Unsafe Driving36029.3%13.4%
Hours-of-Service Compliance20116.3%15.9%
Driver Fitness221.6%6.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
1414
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
110
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
90
Tire-flat and/or audible air leak
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3
55
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
50
Flat tire or fabric exposed
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A
44
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
40
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
40
HOS (ELD) - Driver failing to review records and certify the accuracy of the information.
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39530B1ELDDFR
30
HOS (Form) - Paper Log/Logging Programs Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958A
30

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the North Carolina column is the mix across all North Carolina-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

11crashes
0fatal
3injury
8tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 26, 2026Not Reported, WV00
Aug 3, 2026Beckley, WV02
Feb 6, 2026Whitewater (Township Of), OH00
Dec 8, 2025Not Reported, KS00
Nov 13, 2025Emerson, GA00
Aug 26, 2025Lebanon, IN01
Aug 1, 2025Jefferson (Township Of), OH00
Jul 21, 2025Madisonville, TN01
May 16, 2025Monroe, OH00
Apr 27, 2025Fair Oaks, IN00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number311711
MC / docketMC199727
Legal nameSOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY
DBA nameSOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units188
Drivers190
Annual mileage18,565,681 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Aug 3, 2000)
USDOT number addedMar 23, 1988 · 38 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMar 26, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsFresh ProduceGrain, Feed, HayMeatGarbage/RefuseCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper ProductsUtilitiesAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstruction

Change history since Oct 18, 2026

1 change
DateWhat changedBeforeAfter
Oct 19, 2026Operating authorityMC199727: Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active; Broker of Property (Except Household Goods): InactiveMC199727: Broker of Property (Except Household Goods): Inactive; Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active

Changes we detected between daily FMCSA data refreshes.

Questions about SOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY

What does SOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY's operating authority allow?

MC199727: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about SOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking SOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 311711. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (336) 367-4767, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC199727, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 05:06 UTC.