BROOKS TRUCKING INC

Glade Hill, VA · Interstate · 16 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Apr 12, 2018 (8 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average42.9% vs Virginia average 21.3%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (540) 420-2129 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active on 1 of 2 dockets
MC88876: Common carrier active
FF25625: Common carrier pending
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
42.9%
3 of 7 vehicle inspections (small sample) · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC88876 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

FF25625 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Pending

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 3122736 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC88876PrimaryNORTHLAND INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy WF017860 · 91X
$750,000Apr 11, 2026Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

12inspections
42.9%vehicle out-of-service
3 of 7 · Virginia avg 21.3%
0.0%driver out-of-service
0 of 12 · Virginia avg 6.0%
15violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 14, 2026VA30No
Jun 3, 2026VA17No
Apr 26, 2026NC32No
Feb 17, 2026NC11Yes
Nov 5, 2025NC30No
Oct 3, 2025VA22No
Sep 12, 2025VA22Yes
Sep 11, 2025VA30No
Mar 12, 2025VA11Yes
Jan 2, 2025NC10No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

12 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 3 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 15 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance9375.0%67.5%
Unsafe Driving2016.7%13.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance108.3%12.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
20
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
11
Tire-ply or belt material exposed
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A1
11
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
11
HOS (Form) - Paper Log/Logging Programs Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958A
10
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
10
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
10
Lighting - Side marker lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSML
10
Tires - Front less than 4/32 inch tread depth
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375BTFV
10
Tires - Less than 2/32 inch tread depth
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375CTAOTDLT232
10

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

6crashes
1fatal
3injury
2tow-away
6 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 3, 2026Hampton, VA01
Jun 3, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Jun 1, 2026Not Reported, VA10
Oct 13, 2025Lynchburg, VA00
Aug 28, 2025Louisa, VA01
Mar 9, 2025VA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number3122736
MC / docketMC88876, FF25625
Legal nameBROOKS TRUCKING INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units16
Drivers16
Annual mileage1,125,000 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedApr 12, 2018 · 8 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateAug 7, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMachinery, Large ObjectsLivestockGrain, Feed, HayCommodities Dry BulkAgricultural/Farm SuppliesOtherMilk

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about BROOKS TRUCKING INC

What does BROOKS TRUCKING INC's operating authority allow?

MC88876: Common carrier (may haul regulated property for hire for the general public).

Which information about BROOKS TRUCKING INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot. FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking BROOKS TRUCKING INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 3122736. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (540) 420-2129, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC88876 or FF25625, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 21:11 UTC.