TRANSAM TRUCKING INC

Doing business as TRANSAM

Olathe, KS · Interstate · 892 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since May 19, 1988 (38 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (913) 782-5300 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC197897: Motor carrier active; Broker inactive
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
17.0%
97 of 571 vehicle inspections · Kansas avg 17.5%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC197897 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Broker
Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
Inactive
Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 315503 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC197897—American Trucking and Transportation Insurance Company, a Risk Retention Group
Policy ATTTAM126 · BMC-91
$750,000Jul 1, 2026Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC197897PrimaryAmerican Trucking and Transportation Insurance Company, a Risk Retention Group
Policy ATTTAM121 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000May 1, 2021Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

1,133inspections
17.0%vehicle out-of-service
97 of 571 · Kansas avg 17.5%
1.6%driver out-of-service
18 of 1,133 · Kansas avg 4.0%
858violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 15, 2026NC20No
Oct 15, 2026MO30No
Oct 14, 2026SD30No
Oct 13, 2026NC30No
Oct 13, 2026MO30No
Oct 13, 2026SD21Yes
Oct 12, 2026TN30No
Oct 12, 2026TN30No
Oct 12, 2026IL30No
Oct 11, 2026GA31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Kansas average covers 19,627 vehicle and 32,341 driver inspections of all Kansas-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

548 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 130 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 858 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareKansas share
Vehicle Maintenance26010647.4%73.3%
Unsafe Driving154028.1%11.3%
Hours-of-Service Compliance112320.4%10.4%
Driver Fitness13122.4%3.9%
Controlled Substances/Alcohol991.6%0.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
350
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
3333
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
330
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
230
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
170
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
150
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
110
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
110
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
100
Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR
88

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Kansas column is the mix across all Kansas-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

64crashes
2fatal
19injury
43tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 4, 2026GA00
Aug 16, 2026KS00
Aug 16, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Aug 16, 2026Not Reported, KS00
Aug 16, 2026Nashville, TN01
Aug 15, 2026Lumberton, NC00
Aug 1, 2026GA00
Jul 25, 2026IL01
Jul 15, 2026Scranton City, PA00
Jun 26, 2026Garner, NC01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number315503
MC / docketMC197897
Legal nameTRANSAM TRUCKING INC
DBA nameTRANSAM
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units892
Drivers481
Annual mileage43,198,516 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (May 7, 2024)
USDOT number addedMay 19, 1988 · 38 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateFeb 26, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsMotor VehiclesFresh ProducePassengersMeatCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper Products

Change history since Oct 18, 2026

1 change
DateWhat changedBeforeAfter
Oct 19, 2026Operating authorityMC197897: Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active; Broker of Property (Except Household Goods): InactiveMC197897: Broker of Property (Except Household Goods): Inactive; Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active

Changes we detected between daily FMCSA data refreshes.

Questions about TRANSAM TRUCKING INC

What does TRANSAM TRUCKING INC's operating authority allow?

MC197897: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about TRANSAM TRUCKING INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking TRANSAM TRUCKING INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 315503. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (913) 782-5300, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC197897, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (913) 782-5300

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
TRANSAM LOGISTICS INC High risk
Carrier
Olathe, KS2227659MC4054220Inactive
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 06:35 UTC.