BRANCH CIVIL INC

Roanoke, VA · Interstate · 90 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (540) 366-8853 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active on 1 of 2 dockets
MC1049084: Contract carrier active
MC32509: Common carrier inactive
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$2,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
10.0%
2 of 20 vehicle inspections · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC1049084 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Contract carrier
Contract Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$2,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

MC32509 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Inactive

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 32509 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC1049084PrimaryZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy BAP 4637360 · 91X
$2,000,000Apr 1, 2019Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

47inspections
10.0%vehicle out-of-service
2 of 20 · Virginia avg 21.3%
6.4%driver out-of-service
3 of 47 · Virginia avg 6.0%
43violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 6, 2026VA30No
Aug 13, 2026NC112Yes
Aug 5, 2026VA10No
Jul 2, 2026VA35No
Jul 2, 2026VA30No
Jul 2, 2026VA30No
Jun 30, 2026VA13No
Jun 23, 2026VA30No
Jun 18, 2026NC30No
Jun 17, 2026VA17Yes
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

25 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 10 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 43 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance15460.0%67.5%
Driver Fitness6524.0%4.8%
Hazardous Materials Compliance3112.0%1.0%
Unsafe Driving104.0%13.5%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Medical (Certificate) - Operating a property-carrying vehicle without a valid medical certificate in possession or on file with the state drivers licensing agency
Medical Certificate · Driver Fitness · code 39141APC
22
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
20
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
20
Lighting - License plate lamp inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALLPL
20
Operating a CMV without a CDL
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 38323A2
11
License (CDL) - Operate a CMV and does not possess a valid CDL
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 38323A2LCDLN
11
License - Operate a CMV without a valid operators license issued by one State or jurisdiction
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 39111B5LNCDLNVL
11
HM (Shipping Papers) - Operate a motor vehicle without a required shipping paper. NOTE: An error in the shipping description or an incomplete shipping description
Documentation - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 177817AHMSP
11
Brake - Breakaway not attached to the towing vehicle
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39343DBMA
11
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
11

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

6crashes
0fatal
4injury
2tow-away
6 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Jul 4, 2026Greensboro, NC01
Apr 22, 2026Chesapeake, VA00
Nov 25, 2025Not Reported, VA01
Sep 12, 2025Not Reported, VA01
Apr 28, 2025VA00
Dec 9, 2024Fuquay Varina, NC01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number32509
MC / docketMC1049084, MC32509
Legal nameBRANCH CIVIL INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units90
Drivers87
Annual mileage1,367,290 (2025)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Dec 28, 2009)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateApr 1, 2026

Cargo carried

Metal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsLiquids/GasesPassengersChemicalsConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about BRANCH CIVIL INC

What does BRANCH CIVIL INC's operating authority allow?

MC1049084: Contract carrier (may haul regulated property for hire under continuing contracts with specific shippers).

Which information about BRANCH CIVIL INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking BRANCH CIVIL INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 32509. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (540) 366-8853, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC1049084 or MC32509, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 02:39 UTC.