BFS ASSET HOLDINGS LLC

Doing business as BUILDERS FIRSTSOURCE

Raleigh, NC · Interstate · 4,524 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Aug 25, 1988 (38 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (303) 784-4288 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC788191: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
12.1%
167 of 1,380 vehicle inspections · North Carolina avg 21.9%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC788191 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 325981 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC788191—Liberty Mutual Insurance Company
Policy AS2C5100421245 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000May 1, 2026Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

2,272inspections
12.1%vehicle out-of-service
167 of 1,380 · North Carolina avg 21.9%
1.1%driver out-of-service
24 of 2,271 · North Carolina avg 5.9%
1,138violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 15, 2026NJ10No
Oct 15, 2026NC20No
Oct 15, 2026CA30No
Oct 14, 2026NC30No
Oct 14, 2026VA30No
Oct 14, 2026TX20No
Oct 14, 2026MD10No
Oct 13, 2026NC10No
Oct 13, 2026PA30No
Oct 13, 2026AL30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The North Carolina average covers 60,599 vehicle and 118,016 driver inspections of all North Carolina-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

742 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 212 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 1,138 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareNorth Carolina share
Vehicle Maintenance58218878.4%63.4%
Unsafe Driving104014.0%13.4%
Hours-of-Service Compliance2933.9%15.9%
Driver Fitness27213.6%6.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
300
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
2828
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
220
Cargo - Insufficient tiedowns (w/o headerboard/blocking) for article(s) of cargo longer than 10 feet
Tiedown · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393110B3C
1919
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
180
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
180
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
150
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
140
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
140
Operating a CMV without documentation of a periodic inspection
Inspection Reports · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39617CPI
120

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the North Carolina column is the mix across all North Carolina-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

106crashes
1fatal
38injury
67tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Oct 13, 2026Motley, MN00
Sep 21, 2026Mt 1, MT01
Sep 10, 2026Richland, WA00
Sep 10, 2026Peoria, AZ01
Sep 3, 2026Grand Prairie, TX01
Sep 3, 2026Opelika, AL01
Aug 21, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Jul 22, 2026GA01
Jul 15, 2026Fallston, MD00
Jul 13, 2026Not Reported, GA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number325981
MC / docketMC788191
Legal nameBFS ASSET HOLDINGS LLC
DBA nameBUILDERS FIRSTSOURCE
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units4,524
Drivers5,436
Annual mileage110,279,120 (2026)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Jun 23, 1992)
USDOT number addedAug 25, 1988 · 38 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMay 6, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about BFS ASSET HOLDINGS LLC

What does BFS ASSET HOLDINGS LLC's operating authority allow?

MC788191: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about BFS ASSET HOLDINGS LLC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking BFS ASSET HOLDINGS LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 325981. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (303) 784-4288, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC788191, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 03:12 UTC.