UNIVERSAL LOGISTICS OF VIRGINIA LLC

Doing business as ESTES DEDICATED

Richmond, VA · Interstate · 522 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Sep 5, 2019 (7 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average51.7% vs Virginia average 21.3%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (804) 353-1900 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC1061460: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
51.7%
244 of 472 vehicle inspections · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC1061460 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 3330935 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC1061460—Trisura Specialty Insurance Company
Policy MITUKNAP23001642426 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Jun 30, 2026Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

599inspections
51.7%vehicle out-of-service
244 of 472 · Virginia avg 21.3%
2.2%driver out-of-service
13 of 599 · Virginia avg 6.0%
1,059violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026MD20No
Oct 15, 2026TX27Yes
Oct 14, 2026DE22Yes
Oct 14, 2026DE22Yes
Oct 13, 2026AL16Yes
Oct 13, 2026MD22Yes
Oct 13, 2026TX24Yes
Oct 13, 2026MD22Yes
Oct 12, 2026NJ22No
Oct 12, 2026TX21Yes
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

800 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 364 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 1,059 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance71934789.9%67.5%
Unsafe Driving6007.5%13.5%
Driver Fitness19152.4%4.8%
Controlled Substances/Alcohol110.1%0.4%
Hours-of-Service Compliance110.1%12.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
5959
Cargo - Vehicle components or dunnage not secured
General Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3929A2C
5454
Cargo - Cargo not secured to prevent leaking/spilling/blowing/falling from CMV
Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393100BC
3232
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
180
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
1717
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
170
Cargo - Loose or unfastened tiedown
Tiedown · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393104F3C
170
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
160
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
160
Cargo - Insufficient tiedowns (w/o headerboard/blocking) for article(s) of cargo 5 feet or less and more than 1100 lbs
Tiedown · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393110B2IC
1515

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

32crashes
0fatal
10injury
22tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 29, 2026Not Reported, KS00
Jul 9, 2026Burlington Twp, NJ00
Jun 18, 2026Not Reported, KS00
May 15, 2026Not Listed, TX00
May 6, 2026Lanham, MD00
Mar 3, 2026Houston, TX00
Feb 17, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Feb 13, 2026Not Reported, WV00
Feb 10, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Jan 22, 2026Not Reported, VA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number3330935
MC / docketMC1061460
Legal nameUNIVERSAL LOGISTICS OF VIRGINIA LLC
DBA nameESTES DEDICATED
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units522
Drivers483
Annual mileage21,000,000 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedSep 5, 2019 · 7 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJul 18, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsPaper ProductsConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about UNIVERSAL LOGISTICS OF VIRGINIA LLC

What does UNIVERSAL LOGISTICS OF VIRGINIA LLC's operating authority allow?

MC1061460: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about UNIVERSAL LOGISTICS OF VIRGINIA LLC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking UNIVERSAL LOGISTICS OF VIRGINIA LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 3330935. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (804) 353-1900, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC1061460, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (804) 353-1900

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

2 companies
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
ESTES EXPRESS LINES
Carrier & broker · DBA ESTES
Richmond, VA121018MC972759,805Active
Current · Motus
ESTES TRUCKLOAD MANAGEMENT LLC
Broker · DBA ESTES BROKERAGE
Richmond, VA2239979MC614468—Active
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 06:00 UTC.