NORTH SHORE FREIGHT LLC

Highland, IN · Interstate · 49 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Apr 14, 2021 (5 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average42.2% vs Indiana average 23.1%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (463) 251-3690 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC1230616: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
42.2%
65 of 154 vehicle inspections · Indiana avg 23.1%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC1230616 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 3611966 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC1230616—Universal Casualty Risk Retention Group, Inc
Policy URG04056 · BMC-91
$750,000Aug 25, 2026Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

275inspections
42.2%vehicle out-of-service
65 of 154 · Indiana avg 23.1%
6.2%driver out-of-service
17 of 275 · Indiana avg 5.5%
592violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 15, 2026KY15Yes
Oct 14, 2026SD20No
Oct 14, 2026GA31No
Oct 8, 2026AL30No
Oct 5, 2026WY31No
Oct 4, 2026AR30No
Oct 1, 2026GA31No
Sep 24, 2026MI21No
Sep 23, 2026MS20No
Sep 22, 2026MI24No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Indiana average covers 61,543 vehicle and 111,154 driver inspections of all Indiana-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

407 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 109 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 592 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareIndiana share
Vehicle Maintenance3028774.2%58.8%
Hours-of-Service Compliance511512.5%18.1%
Unsafe Driving46011.3%19.1%
Driver Fitness872.0%3.6%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
2222
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
180
Brake - Defective brake(s) are equal to or greater than 20% of the service brakes on the vehicle/combination
Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS
1010
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
100
Tires - Less than 2/32 inch tread depth
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375CTAOTDLT232
100
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
90
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
80
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
80
Emergency Equipment - Fire Extinguishers - unsecured
Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395A4EEUS
70
HOS (Property) - No driver may make a false report in connection with a duty status. Explain
False Log · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958EHOSPD
61

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Indiana column is the mix across all Indiana-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

12crashes
0fatal
4injury
8tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 19, 2026South Fulton, GA03
Sep 9, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Sep 4, 2026Buckeye, AZ00
Apr 25, 2026Bethel (Township Of), OH00
Dec 13, 2025Not Reported, NM00
Nov 24, 2025Kansas City, MO00
Nov 2, 2025Calumet, OK00
Oct 3, 2025Phoenix, AZ00
Sep 9, 2025Linthicum Heights, MD03
Sep 4, 2025Greer, SC00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number3611966
MC / docketMC1230616
Legal nameNORTH SHORE FREIGHT LLC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units49
Drivers50
Annual mileage8,254,877 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedApr 14, 2021 · 5 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateFeb 24, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightPaper Products

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about NORTH SHORE FREIGHT LLC

What does NORTH SHORE FREIGHT LLC's operating authority allow?

MC1230616: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about NORTH SHORE FREIGHT LLC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking NORTH SHORE FREIGHT LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 3611966. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (463) 251-3690, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC1230616, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 22:54 UTC.