MUNDS ENERGY INC

Hutchinson, KS · Interstate · 130 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Aug 6, 2021 (5 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (620) 662-7281 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC1291270: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$2,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
2.7%
7 of 255 vehicle inspections · Kansas avg 17.5%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC1291270 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$2,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 3695947 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC1291270PrimaryNational Interstate Insurance Company
Policy GAL 4840027-00 · BMC-91X
$2,000,000Nov 12, 2021Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

280inspections
2.7%vehicle out-of-service
7 of 255 · Kansas avg 17.5%
0.4%driver out-of-service
1 of 280 · Kansas avg 4.0%
112violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 9, 2026KS10No
Oct 9, 2026KS10No
Oct 6, 2026KS10No
Sep 30, 2026KS20No
Sep 30, 2026KS10No
Sep 29, 2026KS10No
Sep 25, 2026KS20No
Sep 23, 2026OK30No
Sep 21, 2026KS14No
Sep 16, 2026OK10No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Kansas average covers 19,627 vehicle and 32,341 driver inspections of all Kansas-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

85 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 11 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 112 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareKansas share
Vehicle Maintenance40647.1%73.3%
Hazardous Materials Compliance15317.6%0.8%
Hours-of-Service Compliance15017.6%10.4%
Unsafe Driving13015.3%11.3%
Driver Fitness222.4%3.9%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
70
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
44
Lighting - Tail lamp - Any inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALRLI
40
HOS (Property) - Driving beyond the 14 hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Tim
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2HOSPD
30
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
30
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
30
HM (Highway Carriage) - Failing to have HM shipping papers readily accessible.
Documentation - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 177817E2HMHC
20
HM (Highway Carriage) - Driver accepted/transported HM not prepared in accordance with this Subchapter. Explain
HM Other · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 177801HMHCNP
20
HM (Packaging) - DOT 406/407/412 minimum road clearance.
Package Integrity - HM · Hazardous Materials Compliance · code 1783458A5HMP
20
HOS (ELD) - Driver failing to manually input or verify shipping document number.
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524C2IIIELDSDN
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Kansas column is the mix across all Kansas-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

7crashes
1fatal
2injury
4tow-away
7 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
May 30, 2025Talala, OK01
Apr 12, 2025Wichita, KS00
Mar 14, 2025Not Reported, KS13
Mar 14, 2025Not Reported, KS05
Feb 4, 2025Wright City, MO00
Jan 4, 2025Edgerton, KS00
Nov 8, 2024KS00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number3695947
MC / docketMC1291270
Legal nameMUNDS ENERGY INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units130
Drivers98
Annual mileage10,167,581 (2026)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedAug 6, 2021 · 5 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJul 15, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightLiquids/Gases

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about MUNDS ENERGY INC

What does MUNDS ENERGY INC's operating authority allow?

MC1291270: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about MUNDS ENERGY INC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking MUNDS ENERGY INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 3695947. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (620) 662-7281, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC1291270, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 00:03 UTC.