B & L TRANSPORT INC

Millersburg, OH · Interstate · 88 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Nov 18, 1991 (34 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (866) 848-2888 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC197300: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
17.6%
13 of 74 vehicle inspections · Ohio avg 21.7%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC197300 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 463441 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC197300PrimaryGreat West Casualty Co
Policy GRT45543A · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Sep 1, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

182inspections
17.6%vehicle out-of-service
13 of 74 · Ohio avg 21.7%
0.0%driver out-of-service
0 of 182 · Ohio avg 5.2%
98violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 6, 2026IN31No
Oct 2, 2026OH31No
Oct 2, 2026OH30No
Oct 2, 2026SD30No
Sep 30, 2026NM20No
Sep 25, 2026TX30No
Sep 25, 2026MN12Yes
Sep 23, 2026WY20No
Sep 21, 2026AZ10No
Sep 14, 2026UT30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Ohio average covers 110,511 vehicle and 182,282 driver inspections of all Ohio-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

74 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 13 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 98 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareOhio share
Vehicle Maintenance361348.6%63.0%
Unsafe Driving21028.4%18.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance17023.0%13.4%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
44
HOS (Property) - Driving more than 11 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Time
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A1HOSPD
40
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
40
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
40
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
40
State/Local Laws - Speeding work/construction zone
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLSWZ
30
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
30
Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR
22
Tires - All others leaking in tread area and inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOLTIS
22
HOS (ELD) - A portable ELD is not mounted in a fixed position and visible to the driver when seated in the normal driving position.
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522GELDMFV
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Ohio column is the mix across all Ohio-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

9crashes
0fatal
3injury
6tow-away
9 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 19, 2026Not Reported, SC00
Oct 24, 2025Not Reported, CO00
Sep 4, 2025Not Reported, KS00
Jun 27, 2025Terre Haute, IN01
May 11, 2025Fairview Township, PA00
Mar 21, 2025Fort Wayne, IN00
Mar 4, 2025Middlebury (Elkhart), IN01
Feb 19, 2025Hillsborough, NC01
Jan 16, 2025Non-City Or Unincorporate, MO00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number463441
MC / docketMC197300
Legal nameB & L TRANSPORT INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units88
Drivers90
Annual mileage11,381,740 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Feb 13, 2018)
USDOT number addedNov 18, 1991 · 34 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJan 20, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsFresh ProduceMeatCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodOtherAutomotive Parts

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about B & L TRANSPORT INC

What does B & L TRANSPORT INC's operating authority allow?

MC197300: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about B & L TRANSPORT INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking B & L TRANSPORT INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 463441. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (866) 848-2888, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC197300, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (866) 848-2888

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
B&L LOGISTICS INC
Broker
Millersburg, OH2232489MC491137—Active
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 05:28 UTC.