WESTERN EXPRESS INC

Nashville, TN · Interstate · 3,332 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Feb 3, 1993 (33 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (615) 259-9920 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC260323: Motor carrier active; Broker inactive
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
2 active filings
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
30.5%
2,251 of 7,374 vehicle inspections · Tennessee avg 23.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC260323 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Broker
Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
Inactive

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 511412 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC260323—Ace American Insurance Company
Policy H26039356 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Jun 1, 2026Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC260323PrimaryObsidian Insurance Company
Policy LDT-AL-000001026 · BMC-35
$1,000,000Jun 1, 2026Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

11,916inspections
30.5%vehicle out-of-service
2,251 of 7,374 · Tennessee avg 23.6%
2.0%driver out-of-service
240 of 11,915 · Tennessee avg 3.7%
14,980violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026NC31No
Oct 16, 2026PA23No
Oct 16, 2026PA23No
Oct 16, 2026NM20No
Oct 16, 2026TN31No
Oct 16, 2026NM30No
Oct 15, 2026NC20No
Oct 15, 2026PA32No
Oct 15, 2026PA32No
Oct 15, 2026PA21Yes
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Tennessee average covers 76,674 vehicle and 133,842 driver inspections of all Tennessee-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

10,574 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 2,973 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 14,980 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareTennessee share
Vehicle Maintenance7,5512,71771.4%64.1%
Hours-of-Service Compliance1,55112614.7%13.1%
Unsafe Driving1,323012.5%18.1%
Driver Fitness115961.1%3.8%
Controlled Substances/Alcohol34340.3%0.4%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
677666
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
5300
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
3980
Tires - All others leaking in tread area and inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOLTIS
313312
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
2549
State/Local Laws - Wheel (mud) flaps missing or defective
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3922SLLMF
2443
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
2420
Operating a CMV without documentation of a periodic inspection
Inspection Reports · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39617CPI
2340
Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR
206205
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
2040

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Tennessee column is the mix across all Tennessee-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

587crashes
12fatal
158injury
417tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Oct 9, 2026Not Reported, WV00
Oct 8, 2026Hopkinsville, KY00
Oct 2, 2026Charlton, MA00
Oct 1, 2026Wayne, NJ00
Sep 29, 2026Franklin, KY00
Sep 26, 2026Farmington, ME01
Sep 25, 2026Rural, LA00
Sep 23, 2026Chelmsford, MA00
Sep 23, 2026Sutherlin, OR00
Sep 23, 2026Not Reported, VA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number511412
MC / docketMC260323
Legal nameWESTERN EXPRESS INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units3,332
Drivers3,693
Annual mileage332,596,308 (2026)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Sep 21, 2017)
USDOT number addedFeb 3, 1993 · 33 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateSep 1, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsIntermodal ContainersGarbage/RefuseU.S. MailChemicalsCommodities Dry BulkBeveragesPaper ProductsConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about WESTERN EXPRESS INC

What does WESTERN EXPRESS INC's operating authority allow?

MC260323: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about WESTERN EXPRESS INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking WESTERN EXPRESS INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 511412. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (615) 259-9920, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC260323, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (615) 259-9920

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
WESTERN EXPRESS INC
Broker · DBA WESTERN LOGISTICS
Nashville, TN2243447MC663656—Active
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 22:35 UTC.