HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/515711-watkins-trucking-company-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-20 04:07 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC
Carrier & Broker
Broker & Motor carrier under MC231446
No risk signals found
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (205) 592-3422, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC231446.
- Ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC231446 | — | Arch Insurance Company Policy ZACAT3010907 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Jul 1, 2026 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC231446 | Primary | Arch Insurance Company Policy ZACAT3010906 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Jul 1, 2025 | Active |
| Surety Bond | MC231446 | — | American Contractors Indemnity Company Policy 1000977127 · BMC-84 | $75,000 | Oct 1, 2013 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
18 of 84 · Alabama avg 25.6%
3 of 195 · Alabama avg 4.1%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 1, 2026 | LA | 1 | 6 | No |
| Sep 25, 2026 | GA | 3 | 1 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | NM | 2 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | GA | 3 | 2 | No |
| Sep 14, 2026 | AL | 2 | 0 | No |
| Sep 14, 2026 | AL | 3 | 1 | No |
| Sep 10, 2026 | TN | 1 | 0 | No |
| Sep 9, 2026 | OK | 3 | 0 | No |
| Aug 28, 2026 | GA | 3 | 0 | No |
| Aug 18, 2026 | AL | 2 | 1 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Alabama average covers 33,234 vehicle and 59,607 driver inspections of all Alabama-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
110 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 32 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 142 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Alabama share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 63 | 29 | 57.3% | 72.6% |
| Unsafe Driving | 25 | 0 | 22.7% | 12.8% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 20 | 1 | 18.2% | 10.2% |
| Driver Fitness | 2 | 2 | 1.8% | 3.5% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 12 | 0 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 7 | 7 |
| Cargo - Vehicle components or dunnage not secured General Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3929A2C | 5 | 5 |
| HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524 | 4 | 0 |
| Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998 Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB | 4 | 0 |
| Driver failed to manually add shipping document number Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524C2III | 3 | 0 |
| HOS (ELD) - Driver failing to review records and certify the accuracy of the information. Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39530B1ELDDFR | 3 | 0 |
| Driver- Inattentive or Distracted Driving Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922INAT | 3 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 3 | 0 |
| All required lamps on towed vehicle inoperative due to no electrical connection Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39323PT | 2 | 2 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Alabama column is the mix across all Alabama-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
10 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 30, 2026 | Not Reported, SC | 0 | 0 |
| Jun 22, 2026 | Jonesboro, AR | 0 | 2 |
| Jun 16, 2026 | New Orleans, LA | 0 | 1 |
| Dec 29, 2025 | Atlanta, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Dec 9, 2025 | Rural Pike, AL | 0 | 0 |
| Nov 6, 2025 | Stites Twp, IL | 0 | 1 |
| Oct 30, 2025 | Decatur, AL | 0 | 0 |
| Oct 14, 2025 | Pendleton, SC | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 21, 2025 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 16, 2025 | Grand Rapids Twp, MI | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 515711 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC231446 |
| Legal name | WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 96 |
| Drivers | 85 |
| Annual mileage | 8,961,759 (2025) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Sep 24, 2012) |
| USDOT number added | Mar 9, 1993 · 33 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Jul 13, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsConstruction
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC
Is WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC a broker or a carrier?
Both. WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.
What does WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC's operating authority allow?
MC231446: Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority); Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC is old or missing?
Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.
What should I verify before booking WATKINS TRUCKING COMPANY INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 515711. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (205) 592-3422, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC231446, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Other trucking companies in Birmingham, AL →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-20 04:07 UTC.