HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/659257-preferred-cartage-service-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-20 06:51 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC
Doing business as PREFERRED CARTAGE
Carrier & Broker
Broker & Motor carrier under MC309159
No risk signals found
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.
Cargo cover filed: $5,000
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (970) 304-1454, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC309159.
- Ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: $5,000.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cargo | MC309159 | — | The Hanover Insurance Company Policy IHX5400159 · BMC-34 | $5,000 | Apr 27, 2009 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC309159 | Primary | Arch Insurance Company Policy ZACAT6011909 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Jan 1, 2026 | Active |
| Surety Bond | MC309159 | — | Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company Policy 7901142162 · BMC-84 | $75,000 | Jul 7, 2023 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
6 of 38 · Colorado avg 22.3%
0 of 99 · Colorado avg 6.8%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 25, 2026 | KS | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 6, 2026 | NE | 3 | 1 | No |
| Aug 26, 2026 | WY | 3 | 0 | No |
| Aug 1, 2026 | KS | 2 | 0 | No |
| Jul 31, 2026 | NE | 3 | 0 | No |
| Jul 26, 2026 | NE | 3 | 0 | No |
| Jul 17, 2026 | KS | 2 | 0 | No |
| Jul 15, 2026 | OK | 3 | 2 | No |
| Jun 29, 2026 | NE | 3 | 0 | No |
| Jun 28, 2026 | KS | 2 | 0 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Colorado average covers 19,011 vehicle and 32,893 driver inspections of all Colorado-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
39 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 9 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 49 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Colorado share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 20 | 9 | 51.3% | 71.3% |
| Unsafe Driving | 15 | 0 | 38.5% | 9.7% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 4 | 0 | 10.3% | 12.7% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 8 | 0 |
| Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR | 2 | 2 |
| Lighting - Tail lamp - Both lamps on rearmost vehicle inoperative when required to be on Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939BLRLIWR | 2 | 2 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 2 | 2 |
| State/Local Laws - Unlawfully parking /leaving vehicle on roadway Other Driver Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLUP | 2 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3 | 2 | 0 |
| Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL | 2 | 0 |
| Windshield / Windows - Tinting permits less than 70% of light transmittance Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39360D | 2 | 0 |
| Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle. Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI | 1 | 1 |
| Tire-flat and/or audible air leak Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3 | 1 | 1 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Colorado column is the mix across all Colorado-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
3 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24, 2026 | Not Reported, CO | 0 | 0 |
| Jun 19, 2026 | Fremont, NE | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 27, 2026 | Not Reported, NE | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 659257 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC309159 |
| Legal name | PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC |
| DBA name | PREFERRED CARTAGE |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 53 |
| Drivers | 53 |
| Annual mileage | 5,817,547 (2025) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Jan 19, 2010) |
| USDOT number added | Sep 17, 1996 · 30 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Feb 26, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsFresh ProduceLiquids/GasesIntermodal ContainersLivestockGrain, Feed, HayMeatGarbage/RefuseChemicalsCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper ProductsAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstruction
Change history
No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.
to see it on your watchlist when something changes.
Questions about PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC
Is PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC a broker or a carrier?
Both. PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.
What does PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC's operating authority allow?
MC309159: Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority); Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC is old or missing?
Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.
What should I verify before booking PREFERRED CARTAGE SERVICE INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 659257. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (970) 304-1454, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC309159, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.
Other companies using (970) 304-1454
A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.
1 company
| Company | Location | USDOT | Docket | Trucks | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRO CARGO TRADING LLC High risk Carrier |
Greeley, CO | 2249361 | MC755281 | 0 | Inactive Last known · May 14, 2026 |
Other trucking companies in Greeley, CO →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-20 06:51 UTC.