SUPERIOR CRANES INC

Rockingham, NC · Interstate · 253 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Feb 27, 1998 (28 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

  • Registration (MCS-150) last updated 2 years agoFleet size and contact details on the registration may be out of date.
Operating authority
Active
MC594992: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$5,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
19.2%
15 of 78 vehicle inspections · North Carolina avg 21.9%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC594992 FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$5,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 732140 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC594992PrimaryNational Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, Pa.
Policy 5244539 · BMC-91X
$5,000,000Jun 1, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

208inspections
19.2%vehicle out-of-service
15 of 78 · North Carolina avg 21.9%
4.3%driver out-of-service
9 of 208 · North Carolina avg 5.9%
156violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 14, 2026NC30No
Oct 6, 2026NC30No
Oct 4, 2026IA15No
Oct 1, 2026NC10No
Sep 28, 2026NC10No
Sep 22, 2026GA13Yes
Sep 18, 2026AL32No
Sep 15, 2026GA20No
Sep 10, 2026GA31No
Sep 9, 2026NC10No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The North Carolina average covers 60,410 vehicle and 117,678 driver inspections of all North Carolina-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

106 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 31 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 156 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareNorth Carolina share
Vehicle Maintenance572053.8%63.4%
Unsafe Driving26024.5%13.4%
Hours-of-Service Compliance12211.3%15.9%
Driver Fitness11910.4%6.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
50
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
50
Windshield / Windows - Tinting permits less than 70% of light transmittance
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39360D
50
Failing to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216
40
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
40
Operating a CMV without a CDL
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 38323A2
33
No/improper breakaway or emergency braking
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39343
33
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
33
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
33
HOS (Form) - Paper Log/Logging Programs Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958A
30

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the North Carolina column is the mix across all North Carolina-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

16crashes
0fatal
9injury
7tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 14, 2026Morrisville, NC00
Jul 6, 2026Durham, NC01
Jun 2, 2026Ellerbe, NC00
Apr 22, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Dec 4, 2025Charlotte, NC00
Dec 3, 2025New Bern, NC02
Sep 30, 2025Durham, NC01
Aug 6, 2025Not Reported, GA01
Jul 18, 2025Not Reported, GA01
Jun 27, 2025Unknown, GA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026

USDOT number732140
MC / docketMC594992
Legal nameSUPERIOR CRANES INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units253
Drivers201
Annual mileage2,932,492 (2023)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Apr 30, 2007)
USDOT number addedFeb 27, 1998 · 28 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJul 16, 2024

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesDrive/Tow AwayLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsLiquids/GasesIntermodal ContainersOilfield EquipmentChemicalsUtilitiesConstructionOtherHeavy Equipment

Questions about SUPERIOR CRANES INC

What does SUPERIOR CRANES INC's operating authority allow?

MC594992: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about SUPERIOR CRANES INC is old or missing?

The MCS-150 was last updated Jul 16, 2024, so fleet size and contact details may be out of date.

What should I verify before booking SUPERIOR CRANES INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 732140. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (910) 817-2711, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC594992, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 12:25 UTC.