ROAD RUNNER WRECKER SERVICE INC

Leesburg, VA · Interstate · 49 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Mar 3, 1998 (28 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (703) 450-7555 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC334804: Contract carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: amount not published
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
26.7%
4 of 15 vehicle inspections (small sample) · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC334804 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Contract carrier
Contract Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 732768 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: amount not published.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC334804—ERIE INSURANCE EXCHANGE
Policy Q40 0156753 · 34
—Apr 1, 2019Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC334804PrimaryERIE INSURANCE EXCHANGE
Policy Q04 0181544 · 91X
$750,000Apr 1, 2020Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

20inspections
26.7%vehicle out-of-service
4 of 15 · Virginia avg 21.3%
15.0%driver out-of-service
3 of 20 · Virginia avg 6.0%
34violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 7, 2026MD11Yes
Oct 5, 2026PA26Yes
Sep 21, 2026MD21Yes
Aug 8, 2026DC30No
Jul 16, 2026MD21Yes
Feb 19, 2026MD21No
Jan 14, 2026MD22No
Sep 16, 2025MD23No
Aug 27, 2025VA14No
Aug 24, 2025DC31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

30 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 8 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 34 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance21570.0%67.5%
Unsafe Driving5016.7%13.5%
Driver Fitness216.7%4.8%
Controlled Substances/Alcohol113.3%0.4%
Hours-of-Service Compliance113.3%12.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Lighting - Stop lamps - Any inoperative.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLI
30
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
20
Drugs/Other Substances - Operate a CMV while under the influence or evidence of use within the past 24 hours.
Drugs · Controlled Substances/Alcohol · code 3924ADOSU
11
License (CDL) - Operate a CMV and does not possess a valid CDL
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 38323A2LCDLN
11
HOS (Property) - Failing to have a record of duty status using the method prescribed
Incomplete/Wrong Log · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958A1HOSP
11
Lighting - Tail lamp - Both Lamps on rearmost vehicle driveaway missing when required to be on.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39317A1LRLDWR
11
Lighting - Stop lamps - Driveaway - both missing.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39317A1LSLDMWR
11
Lighting - Turn signal - Driveaway - any missing.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39317B2LTSDM
11
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
11
Steering - Ball and socket joint has movement greater than 1/8 inch measured with hand pressure
Steering Mechanism · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393209DSTBSP
11

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

6crashes
0fatal
3injury
3tow-away
6 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 23, 2026Shepherdstown, WV00
Jun 3, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Apr 24, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Mar 26, 2025VA00
Dec 17, 2024Leesburg, VA01
Nov 5, 2024VA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number732768
MC / docketMC334804
Legal nameROAD RUNNER WRECKER SERVICE INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units49
Drivers42
Annual mileage1,971,710 (2024)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Jul 27, 2010)
USDOT number addedMar 3, 1998 · 28 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateSep 17, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesDrive/Tow AwayLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsIntermodal ContainersConstructionOtherMisc

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about ROAD RUNNER WRECKER SERVICE INC

What does ROAD RUNNER WRECKER SERVICE INC's operating authority allow?

MC334804: Contract carrier (may haul regulated property for hire under continuing contracts with specific shippers).

Which information about ROAD RUNNER WRECKER SERVICE INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking ROAD RUNNER WRECKER SERVICE INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 732768. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (703) 450-7555, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC334804, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 01:43 UTC.