HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/75914-k-b-transport-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-19 22:14 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
K & B TRANSPORT INC
No risk signals in the last-known data
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.
FF1184: no authority granted
Cargo cover filed: $5,000
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗: our copy is the last known status from May 14, 2026. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (574) 389-1986, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC1184 or FF1184.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: $5,000.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cargo | MC1184 | — | The Hanover Insurance Company Policy IHI H342890 · BMC-34 | $5,000 | Aug 20, 2020 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC1184 | — | THIRD COAST INSURANCE COMPANY Policy CRU000006726 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Oct 1, 2026 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
14 of 78 · Indiana avg 23.1%
1 of 148 · Indiana avg 5.5%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 7, 2026 | NC | 1 | 0 | No |
| Oct 6, 2026 | US | 1 | 0 | No |
| Oct 6, 2026 | IL | 2 | 0 | No |
| Oct 5, 2026 | CA | 1 | 0 | No |
| Oct 1, 2026 | NC | 3 | 1 | No |
| Sep 30, 2026 | TX | 2 | 2 | No |
| Sep 29, 2026 | TX | 2 | 1 | Yes |
| Sep 28, 2026 | TX | 2 | 2 | Yes |
| Sep 22, 2026 | UT | 1 | 3 | No |
| Sep 17, 2026 | NM | 3 | 0 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Indiana average covers 61,543 vehicle and 111,154 driver inspections of all Indiana-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
98 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 15 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 123 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Indiana share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 79 | 13 | 80.6% | 58.8% |
| Unsafe Driving | 13 | 0 | 13.3% | 19.1% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 4 | 0 | 4.1% | 18.1% |
| Controlled Substances/Alcohol | 1 | 1 | 1.0% | 0.3% |
| Driver Fitness | 1 | 1 | 1.0% | 3.6% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Inoperative turn signal Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939TS | 4 | 2 |
| Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR | 4 | 0 |
| Lighting - Clearance lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALCL | 4 | 0 |
| Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL | 4 | 0 |
| Inoperable Required Lamp Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939 | 3 | 1 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 3 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3 | 3 | 0 |
| Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB | 3 | 0 |
| Lighting - Backup lamp inoperative Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALBL | 3 | 0 |
| Lighting - Headlamp(s) - Any inoperative Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALHLI | 3 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Indiana column is the mix across all Indiana-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
7 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 19, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 29, 2026 | Seguin, TX | 0 | 1 |
| May 24, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Sep 3, 2025 | Rural (Hot Spring County), AR | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 9, 2025 | Spokane, WA | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 2, 2025 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Nov 2, 2024 | Grover, NC | 0 | 1 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 75914 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC1184, FF1184 |
| Legal name | K & B TRANSPORT INC |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 55 |
| Drivers | 55 |
| Annual mileage | 4,368,091 (2025) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Jul 20, 2005) |
| USDOT number added | Jun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Apr 22, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightHousehold GoodsMotor VehiclesDrive/Tow AwayIntermodal Containers
Change history since Oct 18, 2026
1 change
| Date | What changed | Before | After |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 19, 2026 | Operating authority | MC1184: Motor Carrier of Household Goods: Active; Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active | MC1184: Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active; Motor Carrier of Household Goods: Active |
Changes we detected between daily FMCSA data refreshes.
Questions about K & B TRANSPORT INC
What does K & B TRANSPORT INC's operating authority allow?
MC1184: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire); Household goods carrier (may move household goods for hire).
Which information about K & B TRANSPORT INC is old or missing?
Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check.
What should I verify before booking K & B TRANSPORT INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 75914. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (574) 389-1986, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC1184 or FF1184, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other trucking companies in Elkhart, IN →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 22:14 UTC.