CHIEF EXPRESS LLC

Doing business as CHIEF EXPRESS

Seagrove, NC · Interstate · 60 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Jul 16, 1998 (28 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (336) 873-1100 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC342674: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: $5,000
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
7.6%
10 of 131 vehicle inspections · North Carolina avg 21.9%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC342674 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 759924 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: $5,000.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC342674—Arch Insurance Company
Policy ZACAT5208406 · BMC-34
$5,000Sep 1, 2025Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC342674—Arch Insurance Company
Policy ZACAT5208407 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Sep 1, 2026Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

208inspections
7.6%vehicle out-of-service
10 of 131 · North Carolina avg 21.9%
0.5%driver out-of-service
1 of 208 · North Carolina avg 5.9%
77violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 8, 2026TN11Yes
Sep 29, 2026VA14No
Sep 28, 2026TN10No
Sep 25, 2026NC10No
Sep 23, 2026VA30No
Sep 22, 2026VA30No
Sep 22, 2026WV31No
Sep 16, 2026WV31No
Sep 10, 2026SC30No
Sep 10, 2026NC10No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The North Carolina average covers 60,599 vehicle and 118,016 driver inspections of all North Carolina-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

55 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 11 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 77 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareNorth Carolina share
Vehicle Maintenance211038.2%63.4%
Unsafe Driving20036.4%13.4%
Hours-of-Service Compliance14125.5%15.9%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
77
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
50
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
30
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
30
Driving beyond 14 hour duty period (Property carrying vehicle)
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2PROP
20
State/Local Laws - Following too closely
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLFC
20
State/Local Laws - Unlawfully parking /leaving vehicle on roadway
Other Driver Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLUP
20
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
20
State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4
20
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the North Carolina column is the mix across all North Carolina-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

5crashes
0fatal
3injury
2tow-away
5 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Jun 9, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Mar 17, 2026Charlotte, NC00
Nov 6, 2025Charlotte, NC01
Aug 23, 2025Not Reported, GA04
Apr 21, 2025Hutchins, TX02

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number759924
MC / docketMC342674
Legal nameCHIEF EXPRESS LLC
DBA nameCHIEF EXPRESS
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units60
Drivers60
Annual mileage5,060,187 (2025)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedJul 16, 1998 · 28 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateFeb 12, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsBeveragesPaper Products

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about CHIEF EXPRESS LLC

What does CHIEF EXPRESS LLC's operating authority allow?

MC342674: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about CHIEF EXPRESS LLC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking CHIEF EXPRESS LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 759924. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (336) 873-1100, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC342674, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Other companies using (336) 873-1100

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
CHIEF LOGISTICS LLC
Broker
Seagrove, NC2223437MC325335—Active
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 03:45 UTC.