ROCKTOWN TRANSPORT LLC

Doing business as RT TRANSPORT

Mount Crawford, VA · Interstate · 149 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jul 22, 1998 (28 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average40.0% vs Virginia average 21.3%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (540) 300-5678 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC397752: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
40.0%
6 of 15 vehicle inspections (small sample) · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC397752 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 760829 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC397752—Imperium Insurance Company
Policy ECAP6IICCA00036003 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Sep 1, 2026Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

67inspections
40.0%vehicle out-of-service
6 of 15 · Virginia avg 21.3%
1.5%driver out-of-service
1 of 67 · Virginia avg 6.0%
30violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 11, 2026NC30No
Sep 30, 2026VA30No
Sep 29, 2026VA12Yes
Sep 28, 2026NC10No
Sep 17, 2026NC30No
Sep 7, 2026VA30No
Sep 2, 2026VA30No
Sep 2, 2026VA31No
Aug 25, 2026VA30No
Aug 6, 2026VA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

21 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 7 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 30 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance18685.7%67.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance219.5%12.8%
Unsafe Driving104.8%13.5%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
20
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
20
Illness - Operating a CMV while impaired by illness or other cause.
Jumping OOS/Driving Fatigued · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3923I
11
Brake - Defective brake(s) are equal to or greater than 20% of the service brakes on the vehicle/combination
Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS
11
Air Brake - Fails air loss rate test
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BALR
11
Cargo - Cargo not secured to prevent leaking/spilling/blowing/falling from CMV
Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393100BC
11
Inoperative Brake Lamps
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939BRKLAMP
11
Tire-flat and/or audible air leak
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3
11
Inspection repair and maintenance of parts and accessories
Wheels Studs Clamps Etc. · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1
11
HOS (Manner) - Driver's record of duty status not current to the time shown for last change of duty status. Date and Time:
Incomplete/Wrong Log · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958F1HOSM
10

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

29crashes
2fatal
15injury
12tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 12, 2026Fairview, NC00
Aug 6, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Jul 31, 2026Polkton, NC01
Jul 21, 2026Not Reported, VA10
May 29, 2026Not Reported, VA10
May 11, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Apr 10, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Jan 1, 2026Not Reported, VA01
Dec 22, 2025Not Reported, VA00
Dec 5, 2025Not Reported, VA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number760829
MC / docketMC397752
Legal nameROCKTOWN TRANSPORT LLC
DBA nameRT TRANSPORT
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units149
Drivers149
Annual mileage9,220,000 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (May 6, 2003)
USDOT number addedJul 22, 1998 · 28 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJun 9, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightLiquids/GasesLivestockGrain, Feed, HayMeatCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodOtherMilk And Rendering Products

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about ROCKTOWN TRANSPORT LLC

What does ROCKTOWN TRANSPORT LLC's operating authority allow?

MC397752: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about ROCKTOWN TRANSPORT LLC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking ROCKTOWN TRANSPORT LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 760829. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (540) 300-5678, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC397752, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 17:37 UTC.