J B HUNT TRANSPORT INC

Doing business as J B HUNT

Carrier & Broker

Motor carrier & Broker & Household goods carrier & Broker under MC135797

Lowell, AR · Interstate · 25,280 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (479) 820-0000 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active on 1 of 2 dockets
MC135797: Motor carrier, Broker, Household goods carrier, Broker active
FF51075: no authority granted
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$3,500,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: $5,000
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Broker bond / trust (BMC-84/85)
$75,000
Required: $75,000 · Surety Bond (Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America), Surety Bond (TRAVELERS CASUALTY & SURETY CO. OF AMERICA)
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
22.2%
2,474 of 11,128 vehicle inspections · Arkansas avg 16.9%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC135797 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Broker
Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Household goods carrier
Motor Carrier of Household Goods
Active
Broker
Broker of Household Goods
Active
Liability insurance on file$3,500,000

FF51075 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Operating authorityNot authorized
FMCSA has not granted common, contract, broker or forwarder authority on this docket.
Liability insurance on file$2,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 80806 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: $5,000.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC135797—Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America
Policy 105917743 · BMC-83
$5,000Oct 23, 2023Active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability (BI&PD)MC135797—Self-Insured
Policy 0 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Mar 1, 1993Active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability (BI&PD)MC135797PrimaryPalisades Insurance Company
Policy NONE · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Mar 1, 1993Active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability (BI&PD)MC135797Excess over $500,000Ace American Insurance Company
Policy XSAH11347472 · BMC-91X
$2,500,000Dec 31, 2025Active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability (BI&PD)FF51075Excess over $500,000ACE AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy XSAH25307951 · 91X
$2,000,000Dec 31, 2020Active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Surety BondMC135797—Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America
Policy 105917743 · BMC-84
$75,000Jan 13, 2014Active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Surety BondFF51075—TRAVELERS CASUALTY & SURETY CO. OF AMERICA
Policy 105917743 · 84
—Nov 4, 2021Active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026 / Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

20,256inspections
22.2%vehicle out-of-service
2,474 of 11,128 · Arkansas avg 16.9%
0.7%driver out-of-service
150 of 20,240 · Arkansas avg 1.9%
14,837violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026MS30No
Oct 16, 2026IN20No
Oct 16, 2026KY30No
Oct 16, 2026NC20No
Oct 16, 2026MI22No
Oct 16, 2026TX22No
Oct 16, 2026CA31No
Oct 16, 2026WY21Yes
Oct 16, 2026CA31No
Oct 16, 2026CA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Arkansas average covers 50,593 vehicle and 86,703 driver inspections of all Arkansas-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

10,363 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 3,017 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 14,837 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareArkansas share
Vehicle Maintenance6,8572,84966.2%66.4%
Unsafe Driving2,337022.6%18.9%
Hours-of-Service Compliance1,004549.7%10.7%
Driver Fitness119961.1%2.8%
Hazardous Materials Compliance39110.4%0.9%
Controlled Substances/Alcohol770.1%0.2%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
898888
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
5730
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
5200
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
3570
Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR
281280
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
2600
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
2569
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
2170
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
2072
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
1690

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Arkansas column is the mix across all Arkansas-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

1,517crashes
42fatal
507injury
968tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Oct 9, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Oct 8, 2026Clay (Township Of), OH01
Oct 6, 2026Unincorporated, CA00
Oct 4, 2026Rural, LA01
Oct 3, 2026Groveport, OH02
Oct 2, 2026Rural (Crawford County), AR00
Oct 2, 2026Collierville, TN00
Sep 30, 2026Muhlenberg Township, PA00
Sep 30, 2026Not Listed, TX01
Sep 27, 2026Not Reported, VA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number80806
MC / docketMC135797, FF51075
Legal nameJ B HUNT TRANSPORT INC
DBA nameJ B HUNT
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units25,280
Drivers24,116
Annual mileage1,629,835,251 (2024)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingSatisfactory (May 8, 1992)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJul 7, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsFresh ProduceLiquids/GasesIntermodal ContainersOilfield EquipmentLivestockGrain, Feed, HayMeatU.S. MailChemicalsCommodities Dry BulkRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper ProductsAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstructionOtherIep

Change history since Oct 18, 2026

1 change
DateWhat changedBeforeAfter
Oct 19, 2026Operating authorityMC135797: Broker of Property (Except Household Goods): Active; Motor Carrier of Household Goods: Active; Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active; Broker of Household Goods: ActiveMC135797: Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods): Active; Broker of Property (Except Household Goods): Active; Motor Carrier of Household Goods: Active; Broker of Household Goods: Active

Changes we detected between daily FMCSA data refreshes.

Questions about J B HUNT TRANSPORT INC

Is J B HUNT TRANSPORT INC a broker or a carrier?

Both. J B HUNT TRANSPORT INC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.

What does J B HUNT TRANSPORT INC's operating authority allow?

MC135797: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority); Household goods carrier (may move household goods for hire); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority).

Which information about J B HUNT TRANSPORT INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking J B HUNT TRANSPORT INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 80806. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (479) 820-0000, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC135797 or FF51075, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC.