RICHARD WOLFE TRUCKING INC

Mount Vernon, OH · Interstate · 40 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Nov 7, 1999 (26 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average39.1% vs Ohio average 21.7%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (740) 392-2445 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC370398: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
39.1%
9 of 23 vehicle inspections · Ohio avg 21.7%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC370398 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 838180 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC370398PrimaryBerkley National Insurance Company
Policy 2200205 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Aug 1, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

70inspections
39.1%vehicle out-of-service
9 of 23 · Ohio avg 21.7%
1.4%driver out-of-service
1 of 70 · Ohio avg 5.2%
69violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 9, 2026OH30No
Sep 22, 2026KY11No
Sep 22, 2026CO13No
Sep 20, 2026OH30No
Aug 7, 2026IL30No
Aug 6, 2026OH31No
Aug 4, 2026MO32No
Jul 28, 2026KY13Yes
Jul 16, 2026KY11Yes
Jul 13, 2026IA20No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Ohio average covers 110,511 vehicle and 182,282 driver inspections of all Ohio-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

61 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 12 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 69 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareOhio share
Vehicle Maintenance291047.5%63.0%
Unsafe Driving18029.5%18.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance13121.3%13.4%
Driver Fitness111.6%4.1%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
60
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
40
Cargo - Insufficient tiedowns (w/o headerboard/blocking) for article(s) of cargo 5 feet or less and more than 1100 lbs
Tiedown · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393110B2IC
33
HOS - False record of duty status driver improper use of Personal Conveyance - Not OOS
False Log · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3958E1PC
30
HOS (Property) - Driving beyond the 14 hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Tim
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2HOSPD
30
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
30
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
30
HOS (Property) - Driving more than 11 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Time
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A1HOSPD
20
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
20
State/Local Laws - Speeding work/construction zone
Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLSWZ
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Ohio column is the mix across all Ohio-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

9crashes
0fatal
5injury
4tow-away
9 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 24, 2026Grand Rapids, MI00
Aug 5, 2026Myersville, MD00
Feb 12, 2026TN01
Jan 21, 2026Kirkersville, OH01
Jan 8, 2026Baltimore, MD00
Nov 20, 2025Not Reported, VA00
Aug 11, 2025Not Reported, WV01
Jul 17, 2025Range (Township Of), OH01
May 6, 2025Columbus, OH01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number838180
MC / docketMC370398
Legal nameRICHARD WOLFE TRUCKING INC
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units40
Drivers34
Annual mileage3,305,545 (2021)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Dec 31, 2008)
USDOT number addedNov 7, 1999 · 26 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateMay 12, 2026

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsGrain, Feed, HayConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about RICHARD WOLFE TRUCKING INC

What does RICHARD WOLFE TRUCKING INC's operating authority allow?

MC370398: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about RICHARD WOLFE TRUCKING INC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking RICHARD WOLFE TRUCKING INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 838180. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (740) 392-2445, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC370398, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 00:09 UTC.