LAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC

Doing business as LAWRENCE

Carrier & Broker

Common carrier & Contract carrier & Broker under MC116400

Roanoke, VA · Interstate · 297 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Operating authority
Active on 1 of 2 dockets
MC116400: Common carrier, Contract carrier, Broker active
MC150824: Contract carrier inactive
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: amount not published
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Broker bond / trust (BMC-84/85)
On file
FMCSA lists the filing without an amount. Required: $75,000 · Surety Bond (TRAVELERS CASUALTY & SURETY CO. OF AMERICA)
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
27.7%
23 of 83 vehicle inspections · Virginia avg 21.3%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC116400 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Active
Contract carrier
Contract Carrier
Active
Broker
Broker
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $750,000)

MC150824 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Contract carrier
Contract Carrier
Inactive

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 84337 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: amount not published.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC116400—HANOVER INSURANCE CO.
Policy RHK A960659 · 34
—Jul 1, 2018Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC116400PrimaryARCH INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy 11CAB1009800 · 91X
$1,000,000Jul 1, 2018Active
Surety BondMC116400—TRAVELERS CASUALTY & SURETY CO. OF AMERICA
Policy 107230897 · 84
—Mar 10, 2020Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

177inspections
27.7%vehicle out-of-service
23 of 83 · Virginia avg 21.3%
1.7%driver out-of-service
3 of 177 · Virginia avg 6.0%
207violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 9, 2026SC31No
Oct 7, 2026IL31No
Oct 1, 2026VA31No
Sep 29, 2026VA33Yes
Sep 23, 2026MD21No
Sep 20, 2026KY10No
Sep 17, 2026VA32No
Sep 15, 2026TN21Yes
Sep 3, 2026VA21No
Aug 27, 2026VA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,514 vehicle and 51,603 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

134 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 35 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 207 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Vehicle Maintenance803259.7%67.5%
Unsafe Driving32023.9%13.5%
Hours-of-Service Compliance19014.2%12.8%
Driver Fitness332.2%4.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
60
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
60
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
55
HOS (ELD) - Driver failing to review records and certify the accuracy of the information.
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39530B1ELDDFR
50
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
50
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
50
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
50
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
40
Brake - Defective brake(s) are equal to or greater than 20% of the service brakes on the vehicle/combination
Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS
33
Roll-on/Roll-off/Hook Lift Containers - Improper securement of a roll-on/roll-off and hook lift container
Improper Load Securement · Vehicle Maintenance · code 393134BCRHLC
33

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

10crashes
1fatal
2injury
7tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
May 21, 2026Worcester, MA00
Feb 20, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Jan 28, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Nov 25, 2025Hillsborough, NC03
Apr 14, 2025VA00
Feb 11, 2025VA00
Dec 23, 2024Penn Township, PA00
Nov 28, 2024VA00
Oct 30, 2024Newark City, NJ01
Oct 21, 2024VA10

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026

USDOT number84337
MC / docketMC116400, MC150824
Legal nameLAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC
DBA nameLAWRENCE
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units297
Drivers318
Annual mileage13,936,052 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Dec 14, 2010)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateApr 16, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsDrive/Tow AwayBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsIntermodal ContainersCommodities Dry BulkBeveragesPaper ProductsConstructionOtherNew Furniture

Questions about LAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC

Is LAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC a broker or a carrier?

Both. LAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.

What does LAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC's operating authority allow?

MC116400: Common carrier (may haul regulated property for hire for the general public); Contract carrier (may haul regulated property for hire under continuing contracts with specific shippers); Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority).

Which information about LAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking LAWRENCE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 84337. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (540) 966-4000, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC116400 or MC150824, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.

Other companies using (540) 966-4000

A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.

1 company
CompanyLocationUSDOTDocketTrucksAuthority
LAWRENCE RELOCATION SERVICES INC
Carrier
Roanoke, VA2728193MC9179320Inactive
Last known · May 14, 2026

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 12:10 UTC.