BELL NURSERY USA LLC

Doing business as BELL NURSERY

Burtonsville, MD · Interstate · 65 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Jan 31, 2000 (26 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (859) 954-0939 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC852453: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$3,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
14.6%
14 of 96 vehicle inspections · Maryland avg 20.8%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC852453 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$3,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 852066 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC852453PrimaryAce American Insurance Company
Policy ISA H08875595 · BMC-91X
$3,000,000Jun 28, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

154inspections
14.6%vehicle out-of-service
14 of 96 · Maryland avg 20.8%
5.2%driver out-of-service
8 of 154 · Maryland avg 9.4%
127violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 12, 2026NC10No
Oct 7, 2026NC11Yes
Oct 2, 2026MD30No
Sep 24, 2026MD11No
Sep 16, 2026VA22Yes
Aug 27, 2026FL13Yes
Aug 19, 2026MD20No
Aug 13, 2026VA12No
Aug 11, 2026MD30No
Jul 30, 2026MD20No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Maryland average covers 42,361 vehicle and 51,705 driver inspections of all Maryland-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

91 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 25 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 127 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareMaryland share
Vehicle Maintenance571562.6%71.4%
Unsafe Driving13014.3%10.9%
Hours-of-Service Compliance11312.1%10.3%
Driver Fitness10711.0%6.6%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
66
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
40
Lighting - Headlamp(s) - Any inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALHLI
40
HOS (Property) - Driving more than 11 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Time
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A1HOSPD
31
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
30
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
30
Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB
30
Lighting - Clearance lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALCL
30
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
30
Lighting - Front - Turn signal - inoperative
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALFTSI
30

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Maryland column is the mix across all Maryland-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

6crashes
0fatal
3injury
3tow-away
6 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Apr 1, 2026Hampton, VA01
Oct 21, 2025Not Reported, VA01
Sep 4, 2025Not Reported, VA00
Jul 21, 2025Dudley, NC02
Apr 30, 2025VA00
Apr 6, 2025MD00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number852066
MC / docketMC852453
Legal nameBELL NURSERY USA LLC
DBA nameBELL NURSERY
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units65
Drivers84
Annual mileage4,770,000 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedJan 31, 2000 · 26 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateOct 21, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightBuilding MaterialsFresh ProduceMeatRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper ProductsAgricultural/Farm SuppliesConstructionOtherGreenhouse Plants

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about BELL NURSERY USA LLC

What does BELL NURSERY USA LLC's operating authority allow?

MC852453: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about BELL NURSERY USA LLC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking BELL NURSERY USA LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 852066. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (859) 954-0939, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC852453, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 07:49 UTC.