TRANTHAM SERVICES INC

Alexandria, AL · Interstate · 158 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Apr 10, 2000 (26 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Operating authority
Active
MC382049: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
36.4%
4 of 11 vehicle inspections (small sample) · Alabama avg 25.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC382049 FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 871396 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC382049PrimaryArch Insurance Company
Policy ZACAT7002900 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Aug 26, 2020Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

61inspections
36.4%vehicle out-of-service
4 of 11 · Alabama avg 25.6%
3.3%driver out-of-service
2 of 61 · Alabama avg 4.1%
61violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 6, 2026GA20No
Oct 5, 2026AL23Yes
Sep 14, 2026AL21Yes
Sep 7, 2026GA31No
Aug 26, 2026GA30No
Aug 12, 2026AL21No
Jul 4, 2026GA30No
Jun 19, 2026GA31No
May 1, 2026GA16No
Apr 21, 2026GA31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Alabama average covers 33,241 vehicle and 59,582 driver inspections of all Alabama-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

32 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 7 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 61 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareAlabama share
Unsafe Driving20062.5%12.8%
Vehicle Maintenance10531.3%72.6%
Driver Fitness226.3%3.5%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
50
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
40
State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3
40
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
22
Driving a CMV while CDL is suspended for a safety-related or unknown reason and in state of driver's license issuance
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 38351ASIN
11
Restriction - (CDL) - Operate a CMV in violation of a restriction.
License-related: High · Driver Fitness · code 38395LCDL
11
Lighting - Stop lamps - Both missing when required to be on.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39311A1LSLMWR
11
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
11
Lighting - Tail lamp - Both lamps on rearmost vehicle inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939BLRLIWR
11
Driver- Inattentive or Distracted Driving
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922INAT
10

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Alabama column is the mix across all Alabama-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

29crashes
1fatal
10injury
18tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 24, 2026Jacksonville, AL00
May 1, 2026GA00
Apr 7, 2026Not Reported, GA01
Apr 2, 2026TN02
Mar 30, 2026GA00
Mar 24, 2026Ball Ground, GA00
Jan 23, 2026Ellijay, GA00
Jan 17, 2026Rural Marshall, AL00
Jan 15, 2026Not Reported, GA01
Dec 6, 2025Dahlonega, GA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026

USDOT number871396
MC / docketMC382049
Legal nameTRANTHAM SERVICES INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units158
Drivers250
Annual mileage12,821,000 (2023)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedApr 10, 2000 · 26 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJun 6, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMachinery, Large ObjectsGrain, Feed, HayCoal/CokeCommodities Dry BulkAgricultural/Farm SuppliesOtherRecycleable Materials

Questions about TRANTHAM SERVICES INC

What does TRANTHAM SERVICES INC's operating authority allow?

MC382049: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about TRANTHAM SERVICES INC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking TRANTHAM SERVICES INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 871396. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (800) 648-2017, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC382049, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 10:33 UTC.